Photo Flash: Matthew Broderick, Marin Mazzie, William Ivey Long, and More Inducted Into Theater Hall of Fame

Article Pixel

The Theatre Hall of Fame recently welcomed its 2017 class of eight inductees including (in alphabetical order) Matthew Broderick, Oskar Eustis, Tina Howe, Arthur Kopit, Marin Mazzie, Daryl Roth and Ernie Schier.

The 47th annual induction ceremony took place Nov. 13 at Broadway's Gershwin Theater, where the names of Hall of Fame members are inscribed on the walls in raised gold letters.

the inductees are, in alphabetical order:

Actor Matthew Broderick, who first appeared on Broadway in 1978 and won Tonys for "Brighton Beach Memoirs" and the revival of "How to Succeed" and a Tony nomination for "The Producers."

Oskar Eustis, artistic director since 2005 of The New York Public Theater and before that artistic director or assistant artistic director of Trinity Rep (Providence), Mark Taper Forum (Los Angeles) and Eureka Theatre (San Francisco).

Playwright Tina Howe, whose works include "Coastal Disturbances," "Painting Churches," "Prides Crossing" and "The Art of Dining."

Playwright Arthur Kopit, best known for "Indians," "Wings" and his 1963 debut, "Oh Dad, Poor Dad," as well as the books for "Nine" and other musicals.

Actor Marin Mazzie, Tony-nominated for "Passion," "Ragtime" and "Kiss Me Kate" and renowned for replacement starring roles in "The King and I," "Man of La Mancha," "Into the Woods," and others.

Audra McDonald, six-time Tony Award-winning star of musicals and dramas, including Tonys in each of the four acting categories.

Producer Daryl Roth, whose credits include some 90 Broadway shows, including Pulitzer Prize-winners "Clybourne Park," "August: Osage County" and "Proof," as well as seven Tony-winners for best new play.

The late Ernie Schier (1918-99), long-time Washington and Philadelphia critic, founder and director for three decades of the National Critics Institute at the O'Neill Theater Center in Waterford, Conn.

Photo Credit: Aubrey Rubin

Related Articles

More Hot Stories For You

BREAKING: Matt Doyle, Jennifer Simard, Christopher Sieber, and More Join COMPANY; Cast Announced!
Full casting has been announced for the upcoming Broadway production of Company! Joining the previously announced Katrina Lenk as Bobbie and Patti LuP... (read more)

Zachary Noah Piser to Join Cast of DEAR EVAN HANSEN as Evan Alternate; Plus New Cast Begins Tomorrow
Zachary Noah Piser will join the Broadway company of Dear Evan Hansen on November 26, 2019 as the 'Evan alternate', playing his first performance as E... (read more)

Krystal Joy Brown Will Play Eliza in HAMILTON on Broadway
According to Page Six, Krystal Joy Brown will take over the role of Eliza Hamilton in the Broadway company of Hamilton beginning December 10.... (read more)

Breaking: THE WHO'S TOMMY Will Come Back to Broadway in 2021
It was announced today that producers Hal Luftig and Patrick Catullo will bring a new production of the classic rock opera The Who's Tommy back to Bro... (read more)

Photo Flash: In Rehearsal with the Tour Cast of BANDSTAND
Get a peek inside rehearsals for the Tony Award-winning musical Bandstand before the company heads out for the national tour.... (read more)

VIDEO: Go Inside Rehearsal For FUNNY GIRL in Paris, Led By Christina Bianco!
Funny Girl, starring Christina Bianco, is coming to THeatre Marigny in Paris, beginning November 7. Bianco took to Twitter to give a behind the scenes... (read more)