Photo Coverage: Paper Mill's A Midsummer Night's Dream Opens

Lea Delaria stars as Bottom in a new production of Shakespeare's enchanted comedy A Midsummer Night's Dream, which is staged by Tina Landau. The play marks the first joint production of the McCarter Theatre and the Paper Mill Playhouse--two of the preeminent theatres in New Jersey. A Midsummer Night's Dream first played the McCarter Theatre from March 21st through April 16th, and currently runs at Paper Mill through May 21st (it opened on April 21st).

In addition to DeLaria, the show features Guy Adkins as Puck, Will Fowler as Demetrius, Jay Goede as Oberon/Theseus, James Martinez as Lysander, Ellen McLaughlin as Titania/Hippolyta, Stacey Sargeant as Hermia and Brenda Withers as Helena. According to press notes, A Midsummer Night's Dream "involves two sets of lovers whose romantic escapades are complicated by their entrance into the play's fairyland woods where the King and Queen of the Fairies preside. The impish character Puck creates mischief when he meets a merry band of players and the star crossed lovers."

To order tickets for the Paper Mill run, call (973) 376-4343 or visit

William Fowler (Demetrius), Stacey Sargeant (Hermia), Demond Green (Francis Flute), Valerie Vigoda (GrooveLily), James Martinez (Lysander), and Brenda Withers (Helena)

Jay Goede (Theseus/Oberon) and Ellen McLaughlin (Titania/Hippolyta)

The Fairy Ensemble (Adam Lobato, Karl Christian, Jesse Nager, Ryan Overberg, Christopher Mai, Reginald Holden Jennings)

William Fowler, Brenda Withers, Stacey Sargeant and James Martinez

Lea Delaria (Nick Bottom) , Guy Adkins (Puck), Jaay Goede, and Ellen McLaughlin

Jay Goede and Ellen McLaughlin

Lea Delaria

GrooveLily (Gene Lewin, Valerie Vigoda and Brendan Milburn)

Alison Franck (Casting Director)

Demond Green (Francis Flute), James Martinez, and Stacey Sargeant

Tina Landau (Director), Lea Delaria, and Emily Mann (Artistic Director, McCarter Theatre)

William Fowler and Jay Goede

Emily Mann, Michael Gennaro (President & CEO of Paper Mill Playhouse) and Tina Landau

Groove Lily (Gene Lewin, Valerie Vigoda, and Brendan Milburn)

Reginald Holden Jennings (Fairy Mustardseed), Ryan Overberg (Fairy Moth/Attendant), Jesse Nager (Fairy Cobweb), Christopher Mai (Fairy/Attendant) and Jay Goede

Guy Adkins, Ellen McLaughlin and Jay Goede

Adam Lobato (Fairy), Guy Adkins, Karl Christian (Fairy Peaseblossom/Attendant)

Brenda Withers and Stacey Sargeant

Karl Christian (Fairy Peasebottom), Mark S. Hoebee (Associate Artistic Direction, Paper Mill Playhouse), and Christopher Mai

Stephen Payne (Peter Quince/Egeus) and Lea Delaria


Related Articles

From This Author Genevieve Rafter Keddy

Before you go...