NYMF 2012 Awards for Excellence Announced - BABY CASE, A LETTER TO HARVEY MILK Among Big Winners

The New York Musical Theatre Festival (NYMF) has announced the winners of the NYMF 2012 Awards for Excellence. Awards are voted on by the NYMF jury.

The NYMF 2012 Awards for Excellence are as follows:

Excellence in Writing – Music: Michael Ogborn (Baby Case)

Excellence in Writing – Lyrics: Michael Ogborn (Baby Case) and Ellen M. Schwartz (A Letter To Harvey Milk) (tie)

Excellence in Writing – Book: Jerry James (A Letter To Harvey Milk)

Excellence in Direction: Jeremy Dobrish (Baby Case)

Excellence in Choreography: Jenn Rapp (Prison Dancer)

Excellence in Production Design: Kendra Bell, Aaron Sherkow (Le Cabaret Grimm)

Outstanding Orchestration: Stephen Ferri, Andrew Fox, Adam Michael Kaufman (Foreverman)

Outstanding Ensemble Performance: The cast of Prison Dancer (Cosmo Clemens, Marc dela Cruz, Andrew Eisenman, Albert Guerzon, Jose Llana, Jeigh Madjus, Nathan Ramos, Catherine Ricafort, EnRico Rodriguez, and Moses Villarama)

Outstanding Individual Performances: Enrique Acevedo (Zapata! The Musical), Jessica Burrows (Himself and Nora), Tom Deckman (Arnie The Doughnut), Michelle Federer (How Deep Is The Ocean?), Jeff Keller (A Letter To Harvey Milk), Ryan Kelly (Living With Henry) Leslie Kritzer (A Letter To Harvey Milk), Jillian Louis (Flambé Dreams), Jeigh Madjus (Prison Dancer), Kevin B. McGlynn (Flambé Dreams), Stacey Sargeant (Central Avenue Breakdown), Haley Selmon (Le Cabaret Grimm), Graham Skipper (Re-Animator The Musical), Morgan Weed (Swing State)

Theater for the American Musical Prize: Stuck (Book, Music, and Lyrics by Riley Thomas)

“Best of Fest” Audience Prize: Baby Case (Book, Music, and Lyrics by Michael Ogborn)

Most Promising Musical Award: A Letter To Harvey Milk (Book by Jerry James; Music by Laura l. Kramer Lyrics by Ellen M. Schwartz; Based on the short story “A Letter To Harvey Milk” by Lesléa Newman)

The Daegu International Musical Festival Production Award and The New World Stages Development Prize will be announced in the coming weeks.

This year’s NYMF Jury included: Dan Bacalzo (Managing Editor, Theatermania.com), Dale Berke (NYMF member), Donna Lynne Champlin (actor), Michael Dale (Chief Theater Critic, BroadwayWorld.com), Ken Davenport (producer), Linda D’Onofrio (NYMF Board member), Jason Eagan (Artistic Director, Ars Nova), Frank Evans (writer, producer, BMI), Lily Fan (Producer), Peter Filichia (author, theatre critic: Newark Star-Ledger), Erik Haagensen (Editor, Backstage), Lily Hung (Assistant Director of Career Development at NYU – Tisch School of the Arts), Tim Jerome (actor, founder of National Music Theatre Network), Matthew Murray (theatre critic, TalkinBroadway.com /All That Chat), Tamara Tunie (actor, producer), and Keith Varney (writer, actor).

Related Articles

More Hot Stories For You

Lin-Manuel Miranda Breaks Up an Argument Between Two Quarantined Journalists
The Jerusalem Post has reported that Lin-Manuel Miranda broke up an argument between quarantined Israeli journalists. What were they fighting about? W... (read more)

Breaking: SMASH Star Katharine McPhee Is 'Probably' Team Ivy; Megan Hilty Responds!
In a shocking turn of events, SMASH star Katharine McPhee has revealed her status as a tentative member of Team Ivy. ... (read more)

PBS Streams Shows From Live From Lincoln Center and Great Performances Series For Free
PBS has unlocked a selection of its shows and concerts in its Live From Lincoln Center and Great Performances series, for a limited time.... (read more)

WAITRESS in London to Close Permanently
The West End production of Waitress, which recently temporarily closed due to the current health crisis, has announced via Twitter and their website, ... (read more)

New York City Center Cancels Remainder of 2019-2020 Season
New York City Center has canceled the remainder of the 2019–2020 season including Encores! Thoroughly Modern Millie.... (read more)

VIDEO: Watch Colleen Ballinger in STARS IN THE HOUSE Concert Series with Seth Rudetsky
Stars in The House continues tonight (8pm) with Miranda Sings/Colleen Ballinger.... (read more)