Skip to main content Skip to footer site map

Lindsey Ferrentino Receives 2016 Kesselring Prize for Playwriting for UGLY LIES THE BONE

The 2016 Kesselring Prize for Playwriting - given annually by the National Arts Club to an outstanding new playwright on the verge of national recognition - will be presented this year to Lindsey Ferrentino for her play UGLY LIES THE BONE, it has been announced by the Kesselring Prize committee.

This year the Kesselring Committee significantly increased the award to $25,000, which Ms. Ferrentino will receive, along with the opportunity to reside for two weeks in the historic landmark quarters of The National Arts Club in order to develop her work. This artistic residency is a new addition to the Kesselring Prize this year.

The award will be presented to Ms. Ferrentino on November 14 at the National Arts Club (15 Gramercy Park South). That event shall be open to the public, however advance reservations shall be required since space is limited.

Ms. Ferrentino, who was submitted for the award by the Geffen Playhouse, was among a dozen playwrights nominated for the Prize by leading non-profit theaters around the country: American Conservatory Theater, Arena Stage, Berkeley Rep, Dallas Theater Center, Denver Theater Center, Geffen Playhouse, The Goodman Theater, Manhattan Theater Club, New Dramatists, Primary Stages and The Public Theater. The list of theaters across the country invited to nominate candidates for the Kesselring changes year-to-year.

The jury for the 2016 Kesselring Prize - first awarded by the National Arts Club in 1980 - is comprised of the distinguished playwrights John Guare and Lynn Nottage, and Ann Cattaneo, dramaturg for Lincoln Center Theater. Michael Parva, artistic director of The Directors Company in New York, is the Prize Committee's Artistic Advisor.

UGLY LIES THE BONE was presented by Roundabout Theater Company in New York, with upcoming productions scheduled in the U.S. and Europe. The play depicts the drama that unfolds when a combat veteran returns from Afghanistan in physical and emotional distress and grapples with a new reality that has engulfed her hometown, her relationships and her dreams. Ms. Ferrentino's other plays include AMY AND THE ORPHANS, THIS FLAT EARTH and PARADISE BAR AND GRILL.

Begun in 1980 by the National Arts Club, the Kesselring Prize for Playwriting was established by Charlotte Kesselring, in memory of her husband and long-time National Arts Club member Joseph Kesselring, author of the classic comedy ARSENIC AND OLD LACE. Past winners of the Kesselring Prize include Tony Kushner, Anna Deavere Smith, Nicky Silver, David Auburn, Melissa James Gibson, Jordan Harris and Mark Schultz. In 2015 the Kesselring was awarded to Lucas Nath for his acclaimed play THE CHRISTIANS. Prior to 2016, the Kesselring Prize was bestowed with a $10,000 award.

For more information about the Kesselring Prize and The National Arts Club, visit or contact

Pictured: Mamie Gummer in Roundabout's 2015 production of UGLY LIES THE BONE. Photo by Joan Marcus.

Featured at the Theatre Shop

T-Shirts, Mugs, Phone Cases & More
Branded Broadway Merch

Related Articles

More Hot Stories For You