Janet Dacal's Solo Album MY STANDARDS is Now Available on CD Online and in Stores

Article Pixel

Janet Dacal's Solo Album MY STANDARDS is Now Available on CD Online and in Stores

Ghostlight Records has announced that Janet Dacal is releasing her debut solo album My Standards on CD online and in stores today, Friday, February 14. It was released in digital and streaming formats last week. A collection of Dacal's favorite standards with a Cuban-American flair, the album features special guests vocalists Olivia C. Dacal and Javier Muñoz. A veteran of Broadway's In the Heights and Wonderland, Dacal is currently starring in the national tour of the Tony Award-winning "Best Musical" The Band's Visit. My Standards was produced by Alberto Salas and Janet Dacal, with Carlos Josè Alvarez serving as principle arranger. Alberto Salas is the Music Director for the 13 piece band. To purchase, stream or download My Standards, please visit ghostlightrecords.lnk.to/janet-dacal-my-standards

Dacal reflects, "My parents played Cuban music because it was a way for them to remain tethered to their home of Cuba. Their Cuban boleros (slow-tempo Latin music) kept their sense of 'self' alive too. Their sacrifices, undying love and constant support were my permission slip to fulfill my dreams. Part of immigrant culture is that we believe in dreams. We believe in the sparkly magic and promise of America. For me, one of those dreams was to be a Broadway performer and another whose box had remained unchecked until now, was recording an album."

"This album honors my parents and the rich inheritance of their culture," she continues. "It honors my very first music teachers, both Cuban and American. It honors all of the musical masters that came before me. Mostly, this album is for you... music. Thank you for saving me time and time again and for outliving us all."

Additional arrangements are by Alexis "Pututi" Arce, John Di Martino, Alberto Salas, and Ramón Stagnaro.


1. It Don't Mean A Thing

2. Orange Colored Sky (featuring Olivia C. Dacal)

3. Be True To Me

4. My Funny Valentine

5. L-O-V-E

6. Fever

7. Tenderly

8. Moondance (featuring Javier Muñoz)

9. Begin the Beguine

10. I Got Rhythm

11. Sabor A Mi

Related Articles

More Hot Stories For You

Photo Flash: First Look at Roger Bart, Olly Dobson, and the Cast of BACK TO THE FUTURE in Action!
We've got your first look at the all new musical adaptation of BACK TO THE FUTURE!... (read more)

BWW Exclusive: Thomas Schumacher Reveals Next Steps for HERCULES, AIDA & More!
As BroadwayWorld previously reported, a new North American tour of Elton John and Tim Rice's Tony-winning Broadway smash Aida will premiere at Paper M... (read more)

Australian Actor Peter Saide Passes Away at 36
Peter Saide, Australian actor who recently appeared on stage in LAST DAYS OF SUMMER at George Street Playhouse,  Desperate Measures Off-Broadway and m... (read more)

WHAT THE CONSTITUTION MEANS TO ME Will Be Filmed For Future Release; Submit to Be in Live Audience!
As BroadwayWorld previously reported, What the Constitution Means to Me is in the process of being recorded for eventual future release. BroadwayWorld... (read more)

Video: CITY OF ANGELS Stars Theo James, Hadley Fraser and More Gear Up for Their West End Run
The West End will welcome a transfer of the hit Donmar Warehours production of City of Angels. Check out some video from inside rehearsals as the cast... (read more)

SING STREET Box Office Opens This Week with Special 1982 Pricing!
The Lyceum Theatre box office opens Thursday, February 27 at 10am (EST) for the new Broadway musical SING STREET starring the cast of the critically a... (read more)