Skip to main content Skip to footer site map
Click Here for More Articles on DORA AWARDS

Dora Awards 2014: A List Of All The Winners!

It was an incredible night for Toronto theatre when our community joined together to celebrate another year of performing arts in Toronto on the evening of June 23rd at the WestJet Stage at the Harbourfront Centre for the 35th Annual Dora Awards!

For the 2013-2014 season, 143 producing companies (up 41 from last season's 102) registered eligible productions. A total of 48 Dora Awards, plus the Silver Ticket Award and the Audience Choice Award, were given out in a glittering ceremony hosted by Matt Baram and Naomi Snieckus, founding Co-Artistic Directors of the three-time Canadian Comedy Award-winning The National Theatre of the World.

BroadwayWorld will soon have exclusive photo coverage of the pre-event reception and awards ceremony, as well as photos from backstage of the winners!

BroadwayWorld brings you a list of all of the winners below!



Outstanding Performance, Dance (Male) - Mac Boivin (WOULD)

Outstanding Performance, Dance (Female) - Kate Franklin (Gotta Go Church)

Outstanding Performance, TYA* (Individual) - Colin Doyle (Sultans of the Street)

Outstanding Performance, Indie Theatre (Male) - Mac Fyfe (Trudeau and the FLQ)

Outstanding Performance, Indie Theatre (Female) - Claire Armstrong (After Miss Julie)

Outstanding Performance, Indie Theatre (Ensemble) - Passion Play

Outstanding Sound Design or Composition, Indie Theatre - John Gzowski/Jacquie PA Thomas and the Ensemble, The Sacrifice Zone

Outstanding Lighting Design, Dance - Simon Rositter (Gotta Go Church)

Outstanding Scenic Design, Indie Theatre - Camellia Koo (The Wanderers)

Outstanding Sound Design, Dance - Dustin Peters (Malcom)

Outstanding Costume Design, Indie Theatre - Astrid Janson (Trudeau and the FLQ)

Outstanding Lighting Design, Indie Theatre - Michelle Ramsay (Sister Mary's a Dyke)

Outstanding Performance, TYA (Ensemble) - Sultans of the Street

Outstanding Performance, Opera (Female) - Sondra Radvanovsky (Roverto Devereaux)

Outstanding Performance, Dance (Ensemble) - What We Are Saying

Outstanding Performance, Opera (Ensemble) - Peter Grimes

Outstanding Performance, Opera (Male) - Alan Held (Peter Grimes)

Outstanding Lighting Design, Opera/Theatre - Kevin Lamotte (London Road)

Costume Design, General Theatre - Ronnie Burkett

Outstanding Scenic Design, Theatre/Opera - Ken MacDonald (Marry Me A Little)

Outstanding Sound Design/Composition, General Theatre - Mike Ross (Of Human Bondage)

Outstanding Scenic Design, General Theatre - Lorenzo Savoini (Of Human Bondage)

Outstanding Costume Design, Theatre/Opera - Andreane Neofitou and Christine Rowland (Les Miserables)

Outstanding Lighting Design, General Theatre - Lorenzo Savoini (Of Human Bondage)

Outstanding Direction, Indie Theatre - Matthew Thomas Walker (Birth of Frankenstein)

Outstanding Direction, TYA - Nina Lee Aquino (Sultans of the Street)

Outstanding Choreography, Theatre/Opera) - Marc Kimelman (Once on this Island)

Outstanding Direction, Opera/Theatre - Jackie Maxwell (London Road)

Outstanding Direction, General Theatre - Albert Schultz (Of Human Bondage)

Outstanding Choreography, Dance - Louis Laberge-Cote (Set Meme Apres)

Musical Direction, Theatre/Opera - Reza Jacobs (London Road)

Outstanding Performance, General Theatre (Male) - Bruce Dow (PIG)

Outstanding Performance, Theatre/Opera (Ensemble) - London Road

Outstanding Performance, Theatre/Opera (Female) - Melissa O'Neil (Les Miserables)

Outstanding Performance, General Theatre (Female) - Carly Street (Venus In Fur)

Outstanding Performance, Theatre/Opera (Male) - Damien Atkins (London Road)

Outstanding New Musical/Opera - Joel Ivany (Figraro's Wedding)

Outstanding New Play, Indie Theatre - Rosamund Small (Vitals)

Outstanding New Play, TYA - Anusree Roy (Sultans of the Street)

Outstanding New Play, General Theatre - Vern Thiessen (Of Human Bondage)

Outstanding Touring Production - Mies Julie

Outstanding Production, Dance - What We Are Saying

Audience Choice Award - Venus in Fur (Canadian Stage)

Outstanding Production, Opera - Roberto Devereux

Outstanding Production, TYA - Sultans of the Street

Outstanding Production, Indie Theatre - Vitals

Outstanding Production, Theatre - London Road

Outstanding Production, General Theatre - Of Human Bondage

Silver Ticket Award - Diana Leblanc

*Theatre for Young Audiences

Related Articles

From This Author Alan Henry