BWW TV: Watch Highlights from the 2013 BroadwayWorld New York Cabaret Awards at Joe's Pub!

By Stephen Hanks, BroadwayWorld Cabaret Columnist and Reviewer

I imagine that nothing could be more gratifying for a producer and host/MC of an Awards show than audience members and the Award-winning performers telling you that they had one bangup time. Even better is when people who didn't even see the show tell you that they heard it was a pipperoo. But a producer/host's job is a heckuva lot easier when the performers and musicians perform at the top of their games and as you'll see in these videos that's exactly what they did.

On Sunday night February 23 at Joe's Pub, celebrated the best cabaret performers, performances and shows during 2013 as voted on by more than 7,500 fans at the end of last year. Among the amazing pros who bowled over the audience in the high-energy, 2-hour, 20-minute were Jane Monheit (Best Female Jazz Vocalist), Susie Mosher (Best Variety Show Host), Alice Ripley (representing the Best Variety Show Award winner "Sondheim Unplugged"), Jackie Hoffman (Best Musical Comedy Show), Lynn Ahrens and Stephen Flaherty (Best Revue), Liz Callaway (Best Duo or Group Show), Ann Hampton Callaway (Best Duo or Group Show and Best Tribute Show), Alex Rybec (Best Musical Director), Ted Rosenthal (Representing the Best Band or Orchestra for Ann Hampton Callaway's Sarah Vaughan Tribute Show), Nina Hennessey (Best CD Release), Jason Robert Brown (Best Original Song for a Show), Billie Roe (Representing Lennie Watts' Best Director Award for her Tom Waits Tribute Show), Champagne Pam (Best Female Vocalist and representing the other Best Director Award winner, Susan Winter), Jonathan Whitton (Best Male Vocalist), Marissa Mulder (Performer of the Year), Carole J. Bufford (Vocalist of the Year) and Terri White (Best One-Show or Special Event). In addition, Don't Tell Mama manager and booker Sidney Myer made a stirring speech about the greatness of the art of cabaret in receiving a special award for "Dedication and Devotion to Cabaret."

Special mention should also go to the show's Musical Director/Pianist Bill Zeffiro, bass player Jon Burr, and all the musicians that gave of their time and talent to appear and play for their Award winners. While we're all looking forward to next year's Award show, this one is going to be tough to top.

Related Articles

From This Author Stephen Hanks

Before you go...

Like Us On Facebook
Follow Us On Twitter
Follow Us On Instagram instagram