Skip to main content Skip to footer site map

BWW TV: Broadway Beat Special Sneak Peek - 9 to 5 Opens on Broadway

The new Broadway musical-comedy, 9 To 5: The Musical starring four-time Emmy Award winner and Tony Award nominee Allison Janney, Stephanie J. Block, Megan Hilty, and two-time Tony Award nominee Marc Kudisch began preview performances on Tuesday, April 7, 2009 and opened April 30, 2009, at the Marriott Marquis Theatre (1535 Broadway).  9 To 5: The Musical marks the Broadway debut of seven-time Grammy Award winning singer, songwriter and musician Dolly Parton as composer and lyricist. and Broadway Beat bring you highlights from the production and Opening Night interviews with the cast and creative team!

With direction by two-time Tony Award winner Joe Mantello and choreography by Tony Award winner Andy Blankenbuehler 9 To 5: The Musical has a book by Patricia Resnick, based on her original story and screenplay for the smash 1980 film comedy. 9 To 5: The Musical is produced by Robert Greenblatt in association with Richard Levi, John McColgan/Moya Doherty/Edgar Dobie, James L. Nederlander/Terry Allen Kramer,Independent Presenters Network, Jam Theatricals, Bud Martin,Michael Watt, The Weinstein Company/Sonia Friedman/Dede Harris, Center Theatre Group, Norton Herrick/Matthew C. Blank/Joan Stein, Toni Dowgiallo, and GFour Productions.

Ms. Parton's original score for 9 To 5: The Musical includes over twenty new songs as well as the Grammy Award winning, Academy Award nominated, and #1 Billboard title song. 9 To 5: The Musical had its world premiere engagement in Los Angeles at the Center Theatre Group/Ahmanson Theatre".

The production features scenic design by two-time Tony Award winner Scott Pask, costume design by five-time Tony Award winner William Ivey Long, lighting design by Tony Award winners Jules Fisher and Kenneth Posner, sound design by John Shivers, imaging by Peter Nigrini and Peggy Eisenhauer, with music direction by Stephen Oremus.

The 30 member cast of 9 To 5: The Musical features Kathy Fitzgerald, Andy Karl, Ioana Alfonso, Timothy George Anderson, Jennifer Balagna, Justin Bohon, Paul Castree, Daniel Cooney, Jeremy Davis, Gaelen Gilliland, Autumn Guzzardi, Ann Harada, Neil Haskell, Lisa Howard, Van Hughes, Michael X. Martin, Michael Mindlin, Karen Murphy, Mark Myars(Dance captain), Justin Patterson, Jessica Lea Patty, Charlie Pollock, Tory Ross, Wayne Schroder, Maia Nkenge Wilson and Brandi Wooten.

Tickets are available through (212-307-4100) or at the Marriott Marquis Theatre Box Office and range from $126.50 to $66.50.

For more information visit

Edited by James Sims

Related Stories

From This Author - Broadway Beat