BWW TV: Behind The Swamp - Recording the Cast Album of SHREK!

Shrek The Musical stars Tony Award® nominee Brian d'Arcy James as Shrek, Tony Award® winner Sutton Foster as Princess Fiona, Tony Award® nominee Christopher Sieber as Lord Farquaad, Tony Award® nominee Daniel Breaker as Donkey and Tony Award® nominee John Tartaglia as Pinocchio.

The talented cast came together to bring the magic of the stage show to the recording studio, BWW TV is excited to bring you "behind the swamp" as the fairy tale score comes to life right here on!

Shrek The Musical (Universal / Decca Broadway) has teamed up with BroadwayWorld to give fans the chance to listen to the exciting new cast recording, unabridged, before the official release dates of March 24, 2009.

Listeners were invited to tune in on Monday, March 9, 2009 at 1pm, 3pm, 5pm, 7pm, and 9pm to hear the premier of the cast album, right here on the site! The response was overwhelming so will be repeating the airings on Friday, March 20, and Tuesday, March 24.

Mark your calendars now, to hear the new cast album from Shrek The Musical right here on!

Shrek The Musical also features Cameron Adams, Haven Burton, Jennifer Cody, Ben Crawford,Bobby Daye, Ryan Duncan, Sarah Jane Everman, Aymee Garcia, Leah Greenhaus,Justin Greer, Lisa Ho, Chris Hoch, Danette Holden, Marty Lawson, Jacob Ming-Trent,Carolyn Ockert-Haythe, Marissa O'Donnell, Denny Paschall, Rachel Resheff, Greg Reuter, Adam Riegler, Noah Rivera, Heather Jane Rolff, Jennifer Simard, Rachel Stern, Dennis Stowe, David F.M. Vaughn.

Shrek The Musical is an entirely new musical based on the story and characters fromWilliam Steig's book Shrek!, as well as the Dreamworks Animation film Shrek, the first chapter of the Shrek movie series. Shrek The Musical played a pre-Broadway engagement at Seattle's 5th Avenue Theatre from August 14th to September 21st.

Shrek The Musical features a book and lyrics by Pulitzer Prize® winner, David Lindsay-Abaire (Rabbit Hole), music by Olivier Award-winner Jeanine Tesori (Thoroughly Modern Millie & Caroline, or Change), and is directed by Tony Award® nominee Jason Moore, who staged the Tony Award®-winning Best Musical, Avenue Q and Jerry Springer - The Opera in Concert at Carnegie Hall.

Shrek The Musical is Dreamworks Animation's first venture in legitimate theater. The production was initiated when Sam Mendes, a big fan of the first Shrek film, suggested the idea of creating a musical to Dreamworks Animation's Jeffrey Katzenberg around the time the second film was in production. The musical is being produced by DreamWorks Theatricals (Bill Damaschke, President) and Neal Street Productions, Ltd (principals Sam Mendes and Caro Newling).

Other members of the Shrek The Musical creative team include Tony Award®-winning set and costume designer, Tim Hatley (Monty Python's Spamalot, Private Lives, among others), three-time Olivier Award-winning lighting designer, Hugh Vanstone, whose Broadway credits include Monty Python's Spamalot, Bombay Dreams, The Blue Room and Art, and sound designer Peter Hylenski (Martin Short: Fame Becomes Me and Cry-Baby). The choreography is by newcomer Josh Prince, and Tim Weil (Rent) is serving as music director.

Tickets for Shrek The Musical are available by calling at (212) 239-6200, (800) 432-7250 outside the NY metro area, online at, or in person at The Broadway Theatre box office (1681 Broadway @ 53rd St). Group sales are available by contacting Telecharge Group Sales at 212-239-6262, or 800-432-7780.

For more information, visit

Next on Stage

Related Articles

From This Author BroadwayWorld TV