Beaver Lake To Host FLW College Fishing National Championship

Beaver Lake To Host FLW College Fishing National Championship

Rogers, Ark., is gearing up to host the FLW College Fishing National Championship April 19-21 on Beaver Lake. Twenty-five teams from across the country have competed in 20 qualifying events and five conference championship tournaments, and the top five teams from each conference now will compete for the title of national champion in this three-day nationally televised event.

"The lake is fishing as well as its ever fished," said Kellogg's Pop-Tarts pro Greg Bohannan of Rogers, Ark. "It's been taking 18 to 22 pounds to win every weekend out here because our population of largemouth is really good right now. We have had extremely low water, but there has been some rain lately, so that has put some stain in the lake. That has made them a lot easier to catch. I think we will probably see some record catches in our Walmart FLW Tour event this week.

"We are little bit behind on our spring, and the water temperature is still in the low to mid 50s," Bohannan continued. "The fish really want to move up shallow to spawn. As soon as that water temperature gets right, the fish are going to move up and it will be a sight fishing bonanza. That's possibly lining up to happen during this championship.

"In the clear water, you are going to see a lot finesse rigs," Bohannan went on to say. "Shaky heads, finesse worms, small jigs, and drop-shot rigs will be popular, but you will also see anglers catching them on crankbaits and spinnerbaits. Topwaters might start to play a factor in the next couple of weeks. It's going to give the college anglers some options. If you want to power fish, you need to go up the rivers. If you want to finesse fish or fish for smallmouth, you want to go towards the dam, near the clear water. You can kind of pick your poison in this event here. There's going to be a lot fish biting and you will probably be able to fish however you want to fish."

The 25 teams that will be competing in the 2013 College Fishing National Championship are:

Angelo State University - Ethan George, San Angelo, Texas, and Josh Seale, Breckenridge, Texas
Arizona State University - Jason Karseboom, Tempe, Ariz., and Bobby Fletcher, Gilbert, Ariz.
Auburn University - Jordan Lee, Cullman, Ala., and Shane Powell, Dothan, Ala.
California State University-Long Beach - Justin Gangel, Valley Center, Calif., and Alex Cox, Long Beach, Calif.
Chico State University - Anthony Dayton, Walnut Creek, Calif., and Nick Carrico, Oroville, Calif.
Eastern Kentucky - Kyle Raymer, Brandenburg, Ky., and John Smith, Harlan, Ky.
Fairmont State University - Wil Dieffenbauch, Hundred, W.V., and Ryan Radcliff, Parkersburg, W.V.
Georgetown College - Mike Huff and Nick Huff, both of Corbin, Ky.
Indian River State College - Kyle Monti and Mike Cornell, both of Okeechobee, Fla.
Indiana University - Dustin Vaal, Saint Meinrad, Ind., and Steven Bressler, Fremont, Ind.
Lamar University - Danny Iles, Hemphill, Texas, and Justin Royal, Evadale, Texas
Louisiana State University-Shreveport - Joseph Landry, West Monroe, La., and Gavin Havard, Haughton, La.
Oregon State University - Zach Macdonald, Willits, Calif., and Ryan Sparks, Haines, Alaska
Purdue University - Nicholas Schuetz, Loogootee, Ind., and Elliott Myers, Anderson, Ind.
Ramapo College - Jeffrey Voss, Secaucus, N.J., and Joseph Zapf, Whippany, N.J.
State University of New York-Plattsburgh - Christopher Benninger, Grand Island, N.Y., and Richard Lee, Port Kent, N.Y.
Stephen F. Austin - Blaze Platt, Kennedale, Texas, and Kyle Turner, Tyler, Texas
University Of Alabama - Dustin Connell, Clanton, Ala., and Logan Johnson, Jasper, Ala.
University of California-Santa Cruz - Sam Sayad, Carmel Valley, Calif., and Chris Rhoden, Pearblossom, Calif.
University of Central Florida - Miles Burghoff, Orlando, Fla., and Casey O'Donnell, Bradenton, Fla.
University Of Louisiana-Monroe - Paul Clark, Monroe, La., and Brett Preuett, Pineville, La.
University of North Carolina-Charlotte - Shane Lehew, Charlotte, N.C., and Adam Waters, Denver, N.C.
Virginia Tech - Andrew Jackson, Abingdon, Va., and Patrick Snellings, Fredericksburg, Va.
Virginia Tech - Jody White, Shaftsbury, Vt., and David Bryant, Covington, Va.
Winona State University - Cade Laufenberg, La Crosse, Wis., and Sam Schollmeier, Rochester, Minn.

Daily takeoffs for the national championship will be from Prairie Creek Park located at 9300 N. Park Rd. in Rogers, Ark., at 7 a.m. Weigh-ins will be at 4 p.m. at Walmart, located at 2110 W. Walnut St. in Rogers.

Comment & Share

About Author

Subscribe to Author Alerts
Oklahoma! in Little RockOklahoma!
(Runs 4/24 - 4/26)
As You Like It in Little RockAs You Like It
(Runs 4/18 - 4/27)
The Sound of Music in Little RockThe Sound of Music
(Runs 5/2 - 5/3)
Hamlet in Little RockHamlet
(Runs 4/10 - 5/4)
Footloose in Little RockFootloose
(Runs 4/25 - 5/4)
Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat in Little RockJoseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat
(Runs 4/24 - 5/4)
Hamlet in Little RockHamlet
(Runs 4/10 - 5/4)

More Shows | Add a Show

Message Board