46 Writers Head to JMF Annual Writers Colony at Goodspeed Musicals

A total of 46 established and emerging writers, composers and lyricists will converge on the Goodspeed campus in East Haddam, CT this month to participate in the Johnny Mercer Writers Colony at Goodspeed Musicals. The writing teams, representing nearly 30 new musicals, will populate the campus, creating a truly exciting environment for discovery and inspiration.

The Johnny Mercer Writers Colony at Goodspeed is an unparalleled, long-term residency program devoted exclusively to musical theatre writing. It provides a sanctuary for composers, lyricists, and librettists to embark on new musical theatre work or to devote a substantial amount of time to a work-in-progress in an environment rich with creative energy. For four weeks, starting January 21, writers will be immersed in this stimulating environment with the singular purpose of allowing the writers to write. The Colony will proudly offer established and emerging writers the unique opportunity to research, develop and create new musicals. Over the course of the four week program, composer/lyricist, Jonathan Brielle, will again serve as Producer in Residence, Michael Bush serves again as Dramaturge, and this year, Clifford Lee Johnson III will join as Resident Dramaturge.

The Writers Colony created a confluence of a long-held dream for Goodspeed and the JMF mission to nurture the discipline of songwriting. With this wonderful collaboration, Goodspeed continues to be an incubator for the next generation of musical theatre artists and performers as well as the center for the American Musical.

The outstanding writers who have been invited to participate in the colony have earned tremendous recognition in the industry with honors such as the Lucille Lortel Award, Kleban Award, ASCAP's Howard Adamson Award, Fred Ebb Award, Jonathan Larson Fellowship, ASCAP Cole Porter Award for Music and Lyrics, Richard Rodgers Award, Helen Hayes Award, Guggenheim Fellowship, numerous MAC Awards and The National Art Song Award. In addition participants have earned such honors as the Ken Kesey Award for Fiction, Winner of the NYC Fringe Festival Best-of-Fest Award for Music and Lyrics, the Prism Award for Fantasy and the Alec Baldwin Fellowship.

The 2014 writing teams are (in alphabetical order) Marc Acito, Tim Acito, Jeff Bienstock, Scott Burkell, Michael Cooper, Bobby Cronin, Andrea Daly, Elizabeth Davis, Ty Defoe, Wade Dooley, Darcy Fowler, Jenny Giering, Adam Gwon, Laura Harrington, Leanna Renne Hieber, Dave Holstein, Joe Iconis, Kait Kerrigan, Barry Kleinbort, Lourds Lane, Victor Lesniewski, Nicholas Roman Lewis, Paul Loesel, Brian Lowdermilk, Stacey Luftig, Jon Marans, Tom Megan, Rebekah Melocik, Peter Mills, Ryan Scott Oliver, Phillip Palmer, Eric Price, Jennie Redling, Cara Reichel, Will Reynolds, Heather Robb, Benjamin Scheuer, Alan Schmuckler, Kenny Seymour, Joseph Thalken, Jeff Thomson, Nathan Tysen, William Wade, Jason "Sweettooth" Williams, Sam Willmott and Jacob Yandura.

Comment & Share

About Author

Subscribe to Author Alerts
I Love You Because
(Runs 4/23 - 4/25)
Great Expectations in ConnecticutGreat Expectations
(Runs 4/25 - 4/27)
(Runs 4/3 - 4/27)
Legally Blonde The Musical
(Runs 4/24 - 5/4)
CARRIE the musical in ConnecticutCARRIE the musical
(Runs 5/2 - 5/4)
All Shook Up
(Runs 5/2 - 5/4)
A Cup of Joe at the Iffy Fish in ConnecticutA Cup of Joe at the Iffy Fish
(Runs 4/18 - 5/10)

More Shows | Add a Show

Message Board