Ryan Murphy to be Honored at Critics' Choice Television Awards

· Gotham - FOX

· Halt and Catch Fire - AMC

· The Leftovers - HBO

· Outlander - Starz

· Penny Dreadful - Showtime

· The Strain - FX

"From poignant reality-based movies to dark and Twisted horror to musical theater, Ryan Murphy's creativity knows no bounds," said Joey Berlin, BTJA President. "It is a privilege to be able to recognize the incredible talent and breadth of work that he has developed for television viewers thus far in his career, and we look forward to seeing what lies ahead."

"LOUIS XIII is celebrated globally as an unrivaled blend of Cognac and is committed to recognizing genius talent in various creative areas," said Augustin Depardon, Global Brand Director LOUIS XIII. "The Critics' Choice LOUIS XIII Genius Award recognizes unbridled excellence in the television arts, and by honoring Ryan Murphy, LOUIS XIII and the Broadcast Television Journalists Association wish to honor the genius blend of television genres that make up Murphy's body of work."

Best known for the Critics' Choice Movie Awards, now going into its 20th year, the Broadcast Film Critics Association established BTJA and the Critics' Choice Television Awards in 2011 on behalf of television journalists working in electronic media to celebrate outstanding work in television. In addition to honoring the best shows and performers from the previous season in Drama, Comedy, Reality, Movie, Mini Series, Animated and Talk Show categories, the Critics' Choice Television Awards also spotlights the Most Exciting New Series premiering in the coming months, judging from pilots and early episodes. Nominated programs and performances aired between June 1, 2013 and May 31, 2014.

Red-carpet preshow, "Live from the Critics' Choice Television Awards," will begin at 6:00pm ET/6:00pm PT and will air on flagship station KTLA as well as many other CW/Tribune Affiliates across the country.