Ryan Murphy to be Honored at Critics' Choice Television Awards

Ryan Murphy to be Honored at Critics' Choice Television Awards

The Broadcast Television Journalists Association (BTJA) today announced that critically acclaimed, award-winning television and film screenwriter, director and producer Ryan Murphy will receive the Critics' Choice LOUIS XIII Genius Award, established to honor an icon in the television industry, at the 4th annual Critics' Choice Television Awards (CCTA). Hosted by actor/comedian Cedric the Entertainer (The Soul Man, Who Wants to Be a Millionaire, The Original Kings of Comedy), the Critics' Choice Television Awards will air live on The CW from the Beverly Hilton Hotel on Thursday, June 19, 2014 (8:00pm ET/8:00pm PT).

Originally a journalist writing for publications such as The Miami Herald, The Los Angeles Times, Entertainment Weekly and New York Daily News, Murphy has become one of television's most celebrated creators. He is Emmy Award-winning creator, writer and director of FX's Emmy-winning original miniseries American Horror Story, Screen Actors Guild, Emmy Award-winning FOX series smash hit Gleeand FX's award-winning original drama series Nip/Tuck. Murphy's latest directorial project was the HBO adaptation of Larry Kramer's award-winning The Normal Heart, which premiered May 25, 2014 and stars Mark Ruffalo, Julia Roberts and Matt Bomer. The Normal Heart is nominated for five CCTAs including "Best Movie," and American Horror Story: Coven is a contender in three categories, including "Best Mini-Series."

Also announced today were the honorees in the Most Exciting New Series category, judged from pilots, early episodes and trailers for any announced series premiering after May 1, 2014:

· Extant - CBS

· Gotham - FOX