GREY'S ANATOMY's Ellen Pompeo & Patrick Dempsey Sign New Two-Year Deals

GREY'S ANATOMY's Ellen Pompeo & Patrick Dempsey Sign New Two-Year Deals

Ellen Pompeo and Patrick Dempsey are checking back into GREY'S ANATOMY.

According to The Hollywood Reporter, the leads of Shonda Rhimes' long-running medical drama have signed a new two-year contract to remain with the series through its 11th and 12th seasons. As of now, the series has not been renewed past its current 10th season.

A pick-up for 'GREY'S' is increasingly likely, as, per THR, "the series is tied (with Scandal and Agents of SHIELD) as the network's top series among the advertiser-coveted adults 18-49 demographic with a 4.7 rating. Among total viewers, Grey's is third at ABC, trailingCastle and Scandal, with the fellow Shonda Rhimesdrama outperforming Grey's in the metric by about 200,000 viewers."

Justin Chambers, James Pickens Jr. and Chandra Wilson have also re-upped their contracts, though 'GREY'S' favorite Sarah Ramirez, as well as others, have yet to renew their deals, which currently expire at the end of this season.

As previously reported, Sandra Oh will depart 'GREY'S' this year.

Recipient of the 2007 Golden Globe Award for Best Drama Television Series and nominated for multiple Emmys, including Outstanding Drama Series, "Grey's Anatomy" is considered one of the great television shows of our time. The high-intensity medical drama, now beginning its tenth season, follows the personal and professional lives of a group of doctors at Seattle's Grey Sloan Memorial Hospital.

"Grey's Anatomy" stars Ellen Pompeo as Meredith Grey, Patrick Dempsey as Derek Shepherd, Sandra Oh as Cristina Yang, Justin Chambers as Alex Karev, Chandra Wilson as Miranda Bailey, James Pickens, Jr. as Richard Webber, Sara Ramirez as Callie Torres, Kevin McKidd as Owen Hunt, Jessica Capshaw as Arizona Robbins, Jesse Williams as Jackson Avery, Sarah Drew as April Kepner, Camilla Luddington as Jo Wilson, Gaius Charles as Shane Ross, Jerrika Hinton as Stephanie Edwards and Tessa Ferrer as Leah Murphy.

"Grey's Anatomy" was created and is executive-produced by Shonda Rhimes ("Scandal," "Private Practice," "Introducing Dorothy Dandridge"). Betsy Beers ("Scandal," "Private Practice," "Casanova"), Mark Gordon ("Saving Private Ryan"), Rob Corn ("Chicago Hope"), Tony Phelan and Joan Rater ("Law & Order: Trial by Jury"), Zoanne Clack and Stacy McKee are executive producers. "Grey's Anatomy" is an ABC Studios production.

Photo by: ABC/Danny Feld

Become a Fan, Follower & Subscriber