Copland House Announces 2013 Residency Winners

October 9
3:01 2013

Copland House Announces 2013 Residency Winners

Copland House today announced that eight gifted American composers from five states and Great Britain have been selected for coveted, all-expenses-paid residencies during the 2013-14 season at Aaron Copland's National Historic Landmark home in New York's lower Hudson Valley. The winners of the 2013 Copland House Residency Awards are Keith Fitch (47, Cleveland Heights, OH), Saad Haddad (20, Northridge, CA), Aaron Holloway-Nahum (30, London, UK), Tonia Ko (24, Ithaca, NY), Nicholas Omiccioli (31, Kansas City, MO), Kurt Rohde (46, San Francisco, CA), Christopher Theofanidis (45, New Haven, CT), and Dale Trumbore (25, Los Angeles, CA). This year's eminent jury, which included composers Eric Chasalow (himself a former Copland House Resident), Daren Hagen, and Paul Moravec, reviewed the applications of 99 composers from 26 states and 5 countries. This is the start of the 16th round of coveted composer residencies since Copland House, celebrating its 15th Anniversary this season, welcomed its first composer just before Thanksgiving in 1998.

As Copland House's Artistic and Executive Director Michael Boriskin noted, "These residencies have always embraced both emerging and established artists, and we're very pleased that this year's residents range widely from a well-known, much-performed figure like Chris Theofanidis to young composers at the very beginnings of their careers, like Saad Haddad and Dale Trumbore." The Residents will live and work, one at a time, at Copland's rustic, hilltop home one hour north of Manhattan for stays ranging from three- to eight-weeks. There, they will be able to focus uninterruptedly on their creative work in the same bucolic, inspiring surroundings that Copland so enjoyed during the last 30 years of his life. As Copland House Residents, they will also become eligible for post-residency awards and performances that advance their work, including the Sylvia Goldstein Award, Borromeo String Quartet Award, Hoff-Barthelson Music School Commission, and others, and their work may be showcased in performance by the Music from Copland House ensemble.


Become a Fan, Follower & Subscriber

           Facebook Like Follow

BWW Previews: New York Premiere of Jake Runestad's DREAMS OF THE FALLEN at Carnegie HallBWW Previews: New York Premiere of Jake Runestad's DREAMS OF THE FALLEN at Carnegie Hall
by Peter Danish