2011 Awards Season Articles
Click Here for More Articles on 2011 Awards Season...

Gabriel Byrne, Jonathan Groff et al. Set to Present at Theater World Awards; John Lloyd Young & More to Perform, 6/7


Theatre World Awards for Outstanding Broadway or Off-Broadway Debut performances during the 2010-2011 theatrical season will be presented by former Theatre World Award winners, including: Tammy Blanchard (Gypsy, 2003), Gabriel Byrne (A Moon for the Misbegotten, 2000), Zoe Caldwell (Slapstick Tragedy, 1966), Billy Crudup (Arcadia, 1995), Blythe Danner (The Miser, 1969), Edie Falco (Side Man, 1998), Tovah Feldshuh (Yentl, 1976), Jonathan Groff (Spring Awakening, 2007), RoseMary Harris (The Climate of Eden, 1953), Kevin Kilner (The Glass Menagerie, 1995), and Andrea McArdle (Annie, 1977). There will also be performances by former Theatre World Award winners, including: Karen Akers (Nine, 1982), Ernestine Jackson (Raisin, 1974), and John Lloyd Young (Jersey Boys, 2006).

The Theatre World Awards presentation will be held at Jujamcyn's August Wilson Theatre, 245 West 52nd Street (home of Jersey Boys), in an invitation-only ceremony, Tuesday, June 7, 2011 from 2:00 to 3:45 p.m. Peter Filichia will host, Barry Keating will direct, Mary K. Botosan and Erin Oestreich are the event's producers. There will be a tribute to John Willis, founder of the Theatre World Awards, who died last summer. It should also be noted that John Lloyd Young will be returning to the stage where he originated the role of Frankie Valli and in the process won the Tony, Drama Desk, Outer Critics Circle, and Theatre World Awards. Broadway veteran musical director Henry Aronson will serve in that capacity for the event.

Broadway caricaturist Justin "Squigs" Robertson has designed an exclusive poster for this year's Theatre World Awards (which will also serve as the program cover for the ceremony), featuring all of the 67th Annual Award winners in a collage. There will be a limited run of posters available for purchase at the ceremony.

As previously announced, the 2010-11 Theatre World Award winners are: Ellen Barkin, The Normal Heart; Desmin Borges, The Elaborate Entrance of Chad Deity; Halley Feiffer, The House of Blue Leaves; Grace Gummer, Arcadia; Rose Hemingway, How to Succeed in Business Without Really Trying; John Larroquette, How to Succeed in Business Without Really Trying; Heather Lind, The Merchant of Venice; Patina Miller, Sister Act; Arian Moayed, Bengal Tiger at the Baghdad Zoo; Jim Parsons, The Normal Heart; Zachary Quinto, Angels in America: A Gay Fantasia on National Themes; and Tony Sheldon, Priscilla Queen of the Desert. The first annual Lunt-Fontanne Award for Ensemble Excellence will be presented to the cast of The Motherf**cker With a Hat: Bobby Cannavale, Chris Rock, Elizabeth Rodriguez, Annabella Sciorra, and Yul Vázquez. Also presented at the TWA ceremony will be the third annual Dorothy Loudon Award for Excellence presented to Seth Numrich of War Horse.

Related Articles

Comment & Share

About Author

Subscribe to Author Alerts