Bernard Telsey, Justin Huff, Tara Rubin and More Nominated for 2012 Artios Awards!

The Casting Society of America (CSA) announced today the nominations for the organization's 28th Annual Artios Awards for outstanding achievement in casting given in 22 categories including film, television and theater. The CSA will fête their own on Monday, October 29, 2012 with award ceremonies to be held simultaneously at the The Beverly Hilton Hotel in Los Angeles (reception will commence at 6:00 p.m. PDT) and at XL Nightclub, Cabaret & Lounge (512 West 42nd Street) in New York (reception will commence at 6:00 p.m. EDT). Honorees for this year's Career Achievement Award, Hoyt Bowers Award and The New York Apple will be announced in the upcoming weeks.

For ticket information, please call (212) 868-1260, or (323) 463-1925, or visit

Presented annually, the awards are given on the criteria of originality, creativity and contribution of casting to the overall quality of a project. Named for the Greek word meaning "perfectly fitted," the Artios Awards were first given in 1985 to honor excellence in casting and was held at the Crystal Room of the Beverly Hills Hotel attended by 500 industry leaders. The first New York awards were first given in 1988.

Among this year's nominees are Big Budget Feature – Drama, Big Budget Feature – Comedy, Feature – Studio or Independent – Drama, Feature – Studio or Independent – Comedy, Low Budget Feature – Comedy or Drama, Animation Feature, Daytime Drama Series, Television Pilot Drama, Television Pilot Comedy, Television Series Drama, Television Series Comedy, Television Movie or Mini Series, Children's Series, and Television Animation, New York Broadway Theatre – Drama, New York Broadway Theatre – Comedy, New York Broadway Theatre – Musical, New York Theatre – Comedy or Musical, New York Theatre – Drama, Regional Theatre East, Regional Theatre West, and Los Angeles Theatre.

CSA is the premiere organization of theatrical casting directors in film, television, and theatre. A united professional society, CSA consistently sets the level of professionalism in casting on which the entertainment industry has come to rely: by being passionately committed to establishing a recognized standard of professionalism in the industry, enhancing the stature of the profession in the industry, freely exchanging information and ideas among members, providing the opportunity to honor the outstanding achievements of its members, and providing members with professional support and resources. With more than 500 members, the CSA has representation in the United States, Canada, Europe, England, Australia, and South Africa. For further information, please visit:


2012 Artios Award Nominations for Outstanding Achievement in Casting

Big Budget Feature – Drama
"The Descendants," John Jackson, John McAlary (Associate), Andy Henry (Associate), Yesi Ramirez (Associate)
"The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo," Laray Mayfield
"The Help," Kerry Barden, Paul Schnee, *
"The Hunger Games," Debra Zane, Jackie Burch (Location Casting)
"Moneyball," Francine Maisler, Lauren Grey (Associate)

Big Budget Feature – Comedy
"21 Jump Street," Jeanne McCarthy, Nicole Abellera, Elizabeth Coulon, (Location Casting), Yesi Ramirez (Associate)
"Crazy, Stupid, Love," Mindy Marin, Kara Lipson (Associate)
"Horrible Bosses," Lisa Beach, Sarah Katzman
"The Muppets," Marcia Ross, Gail Goldberg, Brittainy Roberts (Associate)
"The Rum Diary," Denise Chamian, Angela Demo (Associate), *

Feature – Studio or Independent – Drama
"Drive," Mindy Marin, Kara Lipson (Associate)
"The Ides of March," Ellen Chenoweth, Amelia McCarthy (Associate), *
"Margin Call," Bernard Telsey, Tiffany Little Canfield
"My Week With Marilyn," Deborah Aquila, Tricia Wood, Nina Gold (Location Casting)
"Shame," Avy Kaufman

Feature – Studio or Independent – Comedy
"50/50," Francine Maisler, *
"The Artist," Heidi Levitt, Michael Sanford (Associate)
"Friends With Kids," Bernard Telsey, Tiffany Little Canfield, David Vaccari
"The Guard," Jina Jay
"Hysteria," Gaby Kester, *

Comment & Share

About Author

Subscribe to Author Alerts