Click Here for More Articles on AWARDS SEASON

ALL THE WAY, Bryan Cranston, THE JUNGLE BOOK and More Top 2014 Elliot Norton Awards in Boston; All the Winners!

May 19
10:52 PM 2014
ALL THE WAY, Bryan Cranston, THE JUNGLE BOOK and More Top 2014 Elliot Norton Awards in Boston; All the Winners!

The 32nd Annual Elliot Norton Awards ceremony took place on Monday, May 19 at the Wheelock Family Theatre in Boston. Scroll down for a full list of the winners!

As the audience were taking their seats a photo montage tribute played marking the year's major anniversaries which include Actors' Shakespeare Project (10), Broadway In Boston (30), Company One (15), The Charles Playhouse (175), The Lyric Stage Company of Boston (40), The Theater Offensive (25) and The Wilbur Theatre (100).

Emceed by BTCA President Joyce Kulhawik, the evening featured three live performances by the nominated musicals which include Stoneham Theatre's Thoroughly Modern Millie, Gold Dust Orphans' It's A Horrible Life, and the Wheelock Family Theatre's Hairspray.

With remarks by Mayor Martin Walsh and former Governor Michael Dukakis (her cousin) the stage was set for the presentation of the 2014 Elliot Norton Lifetime Achievement Award to Academy Award-winner and theater veteran Olympia Dukakis.

The BTCA presented select awards in memory of longtime ART company member Jeremy Geidt, the legendary Julie Harris and the Huntington Theatre Company's former Artistic Director Nicholas Martin.

To close the evening, SpeakEasy Stage Company's Paul Daigneault accepted The 2013 Elliot Norton Prize For Sustained Excellence.

Presented by the Boston Theater Critics Association (BTCA), the awards are named in honor of the late, distinguished Boston theater critic Elliot Norton, who for many years served on the selection committee, and who remained an engaged supporter of theater, both locally and nationally, until his death in 2003 at age 100. For 48 years, Mr. Norton was a drama critic for Boston newspapers; concurrently, from 1958 until his retirement in 1982, he moderated Elliot Norton Reviews on WGBH-TV. For more information, visit www.nortonawardsboston.com.

The 32nd Annual Elliot Norton Awards:

Elliot Norton Lifetime Achievement Award: Olympia Dukakis

Elliot Norton Prize for Sustained Excellence: Paul Daigneault

Outstanding Visiting Production:

Mies Julie, Baxter Theatre Centre; presented by ArtsEmerson

Outstanding Production by a Large Resident Theater:

All the Way, American Repertory Theater

Outstanding Production by a Midsize Theater:

Tribes, SpeakEasy Stage Company

Outstanding Production by a Small Theater:

The Flick, Company One; co-presented by Suffolk University

Outstanding Production by a Fringe Theater:

Punk Rock, Zeitgeist Stage Company

Outstanding Design, Large Theater:

The Heart of Robin Hood, American Repertory Theater

Set design by Börkur Jónsson, Costumes by Emma Ryott, Lighting by Björn Helgason, Sound by Jonathan Deans.

Outstanding Design, Midsize, Small or Fringe Theater:

The Flick, Company One; co-presented by Suffolk University

Scenic design by Cristina Todesco, Lighting by Jen Rock, Costumes by Amanda Maciel Antunes, Sound by Edward Young, Props Master Anita Shriver.

Outstanding Musical Production by a Large Theater:

The Jungle Book, Huntington Theatre Company

Outstanding Musical Production by a Midsize, Small or Fringe Company:

Hairspray, Wheelock Family Theatre

Outstanding Musical Performance by an Actor:

Francis Jue, Miss Saigon, North Shore Music Theatre

Outstanding Musical Performance by an Actress:

Aimee Doherty, On the Town (Lyric Stage Company of Boston) and Hairspray (Wheelock Family Theatre)

Outstanding New Script:

Windowmen by Steven Barkhimer, Boston Playwrights' Theatre

Outstanding Director, Large Theater:

Gisli Örn Gardarsson, The Heart of Robin Hood American Repertory Theater

Outstanding Director, Midsize Theater:

Ilyse Robbins, Thoroughly Modern Millie, Stoneham Theatre

Outstanding Director, Small or Fringe Theater:

David J. Miller, Punk Rock and The Normal Heart, Zeitgeist Stage Company

Outstanding Actor, Large Theater:

Bryan Cranston, All the Way, American Repertory Theater

Outstanding Actress, Large Theater:

Andrea Syglowski, Venus in Fur, Huntington Theatre Company

Outstanding Actor, Midsize Theater:

Jeremiah Kissel, Imagining Madoff, New Repertory Theatre

Outstanding Actress, Midsize Theater:

Erica Spyres, Tribes, SpeakEasy Stage Company

Outstanding Actor, Small or Fringe Theater:

Alex Pollock, This Is Our Youth (Gloucester Stage Company), Windowmen (Boston Playwrights' Theatre), and The Flick (Company One; co-presented by Suffolk University)

Outstanding Actress, Small or Fringe Theater:

Maureen Adduci, The Normal Heart Zeitgeist Stage Company

Outstanding Ensemble, Large Theater:

The Seagull, Huntington Theatre Company

Outstanding Ensemble, Midsize, Small or Fringe Theater

Hairspray, Wheelock Family Theatre

Photo Credit: Evgenia Eliseeva

Related Articles



HAIRSPRAY LIVE! Latest - VIDEO: Let Your Dreams Come True with All-New HAIRSPRAY LIVE! Promo!
Save $$$ on Tickets to:
Backstage with Richard Ridge
JERSEY BOYS' Mark Ballas
Backstage Bite
Thanksgiving Special!
Turning the Tables
Randy Rainbow w/ FIDDLER Cast
  Chewing the Scenery with Randy Rainbow
CHEWING THE SCENERY-Randy Rainbow Checks in with Liza Minnelli to Chat HAIRSPRAY LIVE!, Pence & More!
Open Mic'ers Bring It All to Broadway Sessions!
Advertisement Advertisement