A CHORUS LINE Announces Complete 2006 Cast

A Chorus Line, the Pulitzer Prize and Tony Award winning musical, proudly announces the 2006 cast. The company will feature Ken Alan (Bobby), Brad Anderson (Don), Michael Berresse (Zach), Natalie Cortez (Diana), Charlotte d'Amboise (Cassie), Mara Davi (Maggie), Jessica Lee Goldyn (Val), Deidre Goodwin (Sheila), Tyler Hanes (Larry), James T. Lane (Richie), Paul McGill (Mark), Heather Parcells (Judy), Michael Paternostro (Greg), Alisan Porter (Bebe), Jeffrey Schecter (Mike), Yuka Takara (Connie), Jason Tam (Paul), Chryssie Whitehead (Kristine) and Tony Yazbeck (Al).

The new production of A Chorus Line will open at the Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre (236 W 45th St) on Thursday, October 5, 2006. Directed by its original Tony Award winning co-choreographer Bob Avian, the show begins Broadway previews September 18th following a six week run at San Francisco's Curran Theatre July 23rd - September 2nd.

A Chorus Line, conceived and originally choreographed and directed by Michael Bennett, features a book by James Kirkwood and Nicholas Dante, music by Marvin Hamlisch and lyrics by Edward Kleban. Baayork Lee re-stages the original choreography. A Chorus Line is produced by Vienna Waits Productions.

The new production features settings by Robin Wagner, costumes by Theoni V.Aldredge, lighting by Natasha Katz and Tharon Musser and sound design by Acme Sound Partners. Musical direction and supervision is by Patrick Vaccariello, orchestrations are by Jonathan Tunick, Billy Byers and Hershey Kay and vocal arrangements are by Don Pippin.

Tickets for the new production of A Chorus Line will go on sale to the general public on Sunday, June 18 through Telecharge.com.

The original production of A Chorus Line opened at the New York Shakespeare Festival's Newman Theatre on May 21, 1975 and transferred to Broadway's Shubert Theatre on July 25th, opening there on October 19th of that year. It won the Pulitzer Prize for Drama, nine Tony Awards, including Best Musical, Score and Book, and the New York Drama Critics Circle Award. It ran for nearly 15 years, closing on April 28, 1990 after 6,137 performances.

A Chorus Line remains the longest running American musical in Broadway history.

Tickets for A Chorus Line will be available through Telecharge, (212) 239-6200 or www.telecharge.com. American Express Cardmembers can purchase tickets beginning Sunday, June 4, 2006 by calling (212) 239-6200. The general public on-sale begins Sunday, June 18, 2006. In previews, performances will be Tuesday through Saturday evenings at 8:00 p.m., with matinee performances on Wednesday and Saturday at 2:00 p.m. and Sunday at 3:00 p.m. (The week of September 18, the show will play Monday rather than Tuesday.) Beginning October 16, the show will play Monday through Saturday at 8:00 p.m. with matinee performances on Wednesdays and Saturdays at 2:00 p.m. Tickets prices are $110.00 and $85.00. Premium seating is available.


Michael Bennett (Conception, Original Director/Choreographer) choreographed Promises, Promises; Coco; Company; Follies (which he co-directed with Harold Prince) and Seesaw (which he also wrote and directed). In 1973 he made his debut as a dramatic director with Twigs, which starred Sada Thompson. A Chorus Line, which he conceived, choreographed and directed, won nine Tony Awards. In 1976 he and the other authors of A Chorus Line were awarded the Pulitzer Prize for drama. In 1979 he produced, directed and choreographed Ballroom, which was nominated for eight Tony Awards and won Mr. Bennett his sixth Tony. He won his seventh Tony Award for 1981's Dreamgirls, and directed its acclaimed 1985 Broadway revival. The film adaptation of Dreamgirls will be released in December 2006.

Related Articles

Comment & Share

About Author

Subscribe to Author Alerts