Judi Dench, Danny Boyle, Nicholas Hytner and More Honored at 2012 Evening Standard Awards


Taking home 2012 Evening Standard Theatre Awards at the Savoy Hotel today, November 25, were Dame Judi Dench, Nicholas Hytner and Danny Boyle, among others.

Dench was honored with Moscow Art Theatre's Golden Seagull  Award, and Boyle received the "Beyond Theatre" Award his and his team's work on the opening ceremony for the 2012 London Olympics. The full list of winners follows.


Best Design
Soutra GilmourInadmissible Evidence (Donmar Warehouse); Antigone (National Theatre)

The Milton Shulman Award for Outstanding Newcomer
Matthew Tennyson - Making Noise Quietly (Donmar Warehouse)

Burberry Award for Emerging Director
Simon Godwin (Royal Court)

Charles Wintour Award for Most Promising Playwright
Lolita Chakrabarti - Red Velvet (Tricycle Theatre)

Editor's Award
David Hare

Best Director
Nicholas Hytner - Timon of Athens (National Theatre)

Ned Sherrin Award for Best Musical
Sweeney Todd (Chichester Festival/Adelphi Theatre)

Best Actor
Simon Russell Beale - Collaborators (National Theatre)

Best Actress
Hattie Morahan - A Doll’s House (Young Vic)

Lebedev Special Award
Nicholas Hytner (National Theatre)

Best Play
Constellations by Nick Payne (Royal Court Upstairs)

Beyond Theatre Award
Danny Boyle and team - London 2012 Olympics Opening Ceremony

Moscow Art Theatre's Golden Seagull Award
Judi Dench

Related Articles

UK / West End THEATER Stories | Shows Like BWW UK  Follow BWW UK

From This Author BWW News Desk

Before you go...