THE MARLOWE Theatre In Canterbury Has Announces New Season

Highlights include the West End hit Motown The Musical (Tuesday 3 to Saturday 14 September 2019), and the return of the perennially popular musical Annie (Monday 14 to Saturday 19 October).

For anyone feeling nostalgic for the 1980s, there's Club Tropicana (Monday 17 to Saturday 22 June), a new feel-good musical packed with 80s hits; the stage version of pop-culture phenomenon Fame (Monday 12 to Saturday 17 August), and more 80s in the form of rock musical Rock Of Ages (Monday 24 to Saturday 29 June), which promises "serious rock'n'roll debauchery".

There will also be a new production of the iconic Saturday Night Fever (Tuesday 5 to Saturday 9 February), starring Casualty star and Matthew Bourne dancer Richard Winsor in the role of Tony Manero, made famous by John Travolta.

This season will be a particular treat for dance fans, with the return of the legendary version of Swan Lake (Tuesday 26 to Saturday 30 March), which first brought Matthew Bourne to public prominence. This famously replaced the female corps de ballet with a menacing male ensemble.

The Marlowe also has Mark Morris's Dance Group's Pepperland (Tuesday 9 and Wednesday 10 April), a unique dance tribute to The Beatles' Sgt Pepper album.

English Touring Opera will be back for their usual annual visit, this time presenting Verdi's Macbeth (Friday 10 May) and Mozart's Idomeneo (Saturday 11 May).

Drama comes in the form of The Full Monty (Monday 28 January to Saturday 2 February), which will be making a return visit, and Benidorm Live (Monday 15 to Saturday 20 April), the new live action version of the popular ITV series, written by the show's creator Derren Litten.

For families, Horrible Histories returns, this time dealing with the Terrible Tudors and the Awful Egyptians. There will also be a new stage version of The Worst Witch, featuring the characters from Jill Murphy's hugely popular books.

New one-night shows include An Evening With Brian Blessed, and music from folk legend Richard Thompson and opera star Russell Watson.

For tickets, call the Box Office on 01227 787787, or go to marlowetheatre.com. There will be audio-described, captioned and British Sign Language-interpreted performances for many of these shows; for full details go to the website.



Related Articles View More UK Regional Stories   Shows

More Hot Stories For You