Young Actors Present MARY POPPINS At Columbia Children's Theatre

Young Actors Present MARY POPPINS At Columbia Children's Theatre

She's practically perfect and she's flying onto the stage at Columbia Children's Theatre (CCT). Yes, over 200 young actors in CCT's YouTheatre program will present Disney and Cameron Macintosh's Broadway musical Mary Poppins, August 2-11. The "Jolly" cast performs August 2-4 while the "Holiday" cast performs August 9-11. Both Friday performances are at 7:00 pm, Saturday performances are at 1:30 pm and 7:00 pm and Sunday performances are at 3:00. General admission tickets are $10.00 and $8.00 for active military and seniors with proper ID. Advance ticket purchases are strongly recommended and may be purchased securely on-line at All shows take place at The Eau Claire High School theatre, 4800 Monticello Rd. (near Columbia College) in Columbia. CCT's YouTheatre season is sponsored by Staymobile.

This delightful family musical features all of your favorite songs from the cherished Disney film including "A Spoonful of Sugar," "Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious" and "Step in Time" as well as all new material created by the song-writing team of George Stiles and Anthony Drewe. Julian Fellowes of Downton Abbey fame wrote the book for the show. Winner of 44 major theatre awards from around the globe, Mary Poppins has captivated audiences for generations with its enchanting story, unforgettable songs and dazzling dance numbers.

CCT Artistic Director, Jerry Stevenson directs this full Broadway version of the show (not a "Junior" title) which will feature flying effects by On The Fly Productions. "It's a huge undertaking," says Stevenson. "With over 200 performers means there are nearly 600 costumes in the show and, making sure we fly children safely is another huge concern."

CCT favorites and recent graduates Sarah Krawczyk (Sweeny Todd, Anything Goes,) and Annika Barr (Urinetown) will take on the role of the practically perfect English nanny while CCT Mainstage and YouTheatre staple Baker Morrison (Goldilocks, Urinetown, The Music Man,) and CCT new-comer Peyton Whetstone take on the role of Bert.

The cast features over 200 Midlands youth, performing over two weekends. The Jolly Cast performs August 2-4 and includes: Charlie Aitken, Ian Aitken, Josie Aitken, Logan Aitken, Liam Allen, Kiley Bailey, Journey Baker, Danielle Banks, Annika Barr, Henry Barry, Lucy Barry, Kat Bjorn, Elizabeth Brant, Ava Caraman, Liam Carrico, Carleigh Crowley, Gracie Daly, Thomas Daly, Carmen Dunlap, Liam Dupree, Reilleigh DuTill, Emmalyn Eberhardt, Nicholas Eberhardt, TaylorAnne Fogarty, Adelle Fuller, Anna Fuller, Adiel Goutier, Avery Gripper, Hannah Gross, Paden Herbig, Pippa Holland, Reagan Holland, Rylin Hubbard, Roman Johnson, Lucy Jones, Ellison Judy, Lillian King, Caydence Lee, Stormy L'Heureux, Vanessa Lopez, Austin-Kate Ludovina, Jaiden Ludovina, Jake Ludovina, Jennifer Ludovina, Josh Ludovina, Riley Marshall, Jada McClellan, Sam McConnell, Parker McLean-Hasinger, Avery Meekins, Anna-Kate Mobley, Ally Montgomery, Lily Kate Moody, Olivia Moody, Jay Mooneyhan, Chloe Morgan, Jesse Morgan, Baker Morrison, Madison Nelson, Caitlynn Niccum, Fionn O'Connor, Liam O'Connor, Stephen O'Connor, Jackie Oliver, Matthew Poindexter, Anna Reosti, Jack Reosti, Peter Reosti, Therese Reosti, Ayana Reyes, Savannah Robinson, Ainsley Ropel, Zoie Scott, Nia Seabrook, Zach Shaduk, Addison Shellem, Sam Siceloff, Emily Smith, Livi Strobel, Lynden Thomas, Rachel Thornhill, Kaden Todd, Zayla Torbit, Micah Turner, Annie Varner, Will Varner, Mallory Vince, Cameron Vipperman, Lauren Waters, Dorothy Weaver, Marjorie Weaver, Walker Weaver, Blyth Webb, Kate Weiss, Sam Weiss, Shannon White, and Rylee Winecoff.

The Holiday Cast performs August 9-11 and includes: Bryn Alexander, Madison Berry, Caleb Bothur, Lydia Bothur, Emmary Branham, Addie Brown, Eliza Brown, Kaelyn Bryson-Bolton, Abigail Christian, Ayden Cobb, Ava Coleman, Alex Cone, Katie Conrad, Lindsay Conrath, Blair Delaney, Cate Dingeldine, Coco Diveley, Olivia Dove, Jackson Drew, Isabella Fleischer, Sam Fleischer, Olivia Fox, Mary Catherine Gabrielli, Molly Goddard, Lucy Grieswell, Shayna Grossberg, Maggie Hadley, Wellslee Hall, Lillian Hanscom, Elizabeth Heath, Caroline Herpel, Daphne Horvat, Lindsay Hunter, Calvin Kowalke, Mya Kowalke, Sammy Kowalke, Chase Krawczyk, Sarah Krawczyk, Madeline Kunz, Joanne Landrum, Alexander Lease, Skyler Lease, Yixuan Li, Mackenzie Litton, Madison Litton, Mason Litton, Bess Lyon, Alli Beth McCarthy, Mahogany McCreary, Max McKenna, Khloe McKinney, Liza Milling, Toby O'Connor, Kate Potts, Annie Pregnall, Leila Pregnall, Lily Rankin, Lucy Rankin, Olivia Robinson, Sophie Robinson, Ellie Ross, Zaire Ross-McCloud, London Saunders, Grace Sawicki, Katie Sawicki, Luke Schrader, Molly Schrader, Eva Shealy, Ivy Shealy, Sylvia Shealy, Molly Sherman, Victoria Jane Shifflett, Emily Taylor Smith, Cort Stevenson, Luke Tanner, Mac Thames, Carson Thomas, Abby Toole, Abi Tuorto, Carter Verwers, Eliana Verwers, Felicity Verwers, Jonas Verwers, Olivia Verwers, Charlotte Warren, Landon Watts, Trey Weaver, Lillie Wells, Peyton Whetstone, Cierra White, Hollie Whitener, Londyn Witherspoon, Jackson Wright, and Sullivan Wright.

The show features choreography by Lisa Sendler, musical direction by Paul Lindley and costumes by Jerry Stevenson, Elizabeth Krawczyk and Donna Harvey.

Columbia Children's Theatre is a professional resident not-for-profit theatre dedicated to providing quality live theatre experiences for families and young audiences, and is supported in part by the City of Forest Acres, and the South Carolina Arts Commission, which receives funding from the National Endowment for the Arts.

Related Articles View More South Carolina Stories   Shows

More Hot Stories For You