Signature Announces Cast and Creative for CURSE OF THE STARVING CLASS

Signature Announces Cast and Creative for CURSE OF THE STARVING CLASS

The cast and creative team have been announced for the Signature Theatre production of Curse of the Starving Class by Sam Shepard and directed by Tony Award nominee Terry Kinney. The production runs April 23 to May 26, 2019 with a Monday, May 13 opening night in The Irene Diamond Stage at The Pershing Square Signature Center (480 West 42nd Street between 9th and 10th Avenues).

Tickets, priced at $35 thanks to the Signature Ticket Initiative, are on sale now for the production. To purchase tickets for all Signature Productions, call Ticket Services at 212-244-7529 (Tues. - Sun., 11am - 6pm) or visit

The cast of Curse of the Starving Class includes Lizzy DeClement ("New Amsterdam") as Emma, Flora Diaz ("Gotham") as Sergeant Malcolm, Gilles Geary ("The I-Land") as Wesley, Esau Pritchett ("The Night Of") as Ellis, Andy Rothenberg ("Castle Rock") as Taylor,Maggie Siff ("Billions") as Ella, David Warshofsky (Taken) as Weston.

The creative team includes Julian Crouch (Scenic Design), Sarah J. Holden (Costume Design), Natasha Katz (Lighting Design), Rob Milburn & Michael Bodeen (Sound Design & Original Music), William Berloni (Animals) and Peter Pucci (Choreographer). The Production Stage Manager is Robert Bennett and Casting is by Caparelliotis Casting.

This new production of Curse of the Starving Class, directed by Terry Kinney, honors Pulitzer Prize-winning Legacy Playwright Sam Shepard, who passed away in 2017. Living a stagnant, unhappy existence in rural California, the struggling Tate family is desperate for change, but every family member has a different way of trying to improve their station in life.

The groundbreaking Signature Ticket Initiative: A Generation of Access is a program that guarantees affordable tickets to every Signature production through 2031. This spring, Signature will offer its millionth subsidized ticket through the Signature Ticket Initiative. Serving as a model for theatres and performing arts organizations across the country, the Initiative was founded in 2005 and is made possible by lead partner The Pershing Square Foundation with additional support provided by the Jerome L. Greene Foundation, the Howard Gilman Foundation, Margot Adams, The SHS Foundation, the Stavros Niarchos Foundation, Unlikely Collaborators, Consolidated Edison Company of New York, the New York City Department of Cultural Affairs, and City Council Speaker Corey Johnson.

Photo Credit: Linda Lenzi

buy tickets

Related Articles

More Hot Stories For You

Before you go...

Like Us On Facebook
Follow Us On Twitter
Follow Us On Instagram instagram