SKIPPYJON JONES Receives Off-Broadway Run, 7/17-8/17


Theatreworks USA today announced complete details for the Off-Broadway premiere of the new children's musical SKIPPYJON JONES, the featured production of its 24th Annual Free Summer Theatre Program.

SKIPPYJON JONES begins performances on Tuesday, July 17, 2012 at Off-Broadway's Lucille Lortel Theatre (121 Christopher Street) and continues through Friday, August 17, 2012.

Opening night is set for Wednesday, July 25 at 6:30pm.

Skippyjon Jones wants to be the best Chihuahua ever! The only problem: he's actually a Siamese cat. Before you can say "holy guacamole," Skippyjon's wild imagination transforms him into El Skippito Friskito, the greatest sword fighter in Mexico!

SKIPPYJON JONES is based on the popular picture book series of the same name by Judy Schachner.

Directed by Peter Flynn (Junie B. Jones, Henry & Mudge) and choreographed by Devanand Janki (Lortel nominee for Junie B. Jones and Henry & Mudge, Callaway nominee for The Yellow Brick Road), SKIPPYJON JONES features music by Eli Bolin ("Sesame Street") with book and lyrics by Kevin Del Aguila (Drama Desk nominee for Click, Clack, Moo; Altar Boyz).

SKIPPYJON JONES stars Austen Nash Boone as Skippyjon Jones, Jose Restrepo as Mama Junebug/Polka Dot-ito/Alfredo Buzzito, Veronica Reyes as Jezebel/Poquito Tito, Gabrielle Ruiz as Ju-Ju Bee/Rosalita, and Graham Stevens as Jilly Boo/Don Diego. Melanie Beck and Marcelo Pereira are the understudies.

The production features scenic design by Rob Odorisio, costume design by Tracy Christensen (Lortel Award nominee for Seussical), lighting design by Jeff Croiter (Tony Winner for Peter and the Starcatcher) and Corey Pattak, and sound design by Carl Casella (Silence! The Musical). Orchestrations are by Frank Galgano and Matt Castle. Castle also serves as musical director.

Launched in 1989, the mission of Theatreworks USA's Free Summer Theatre Program is to provide New York City youth with their own theatre tradition that not only entertains, but also educates and fosters positive value and an appreciation for theatre.

More than 15,000 FREE tickets will be distributed to SKIPPYJON JONES this summer. This year's Honorary Chairs for the Free Summer Theatre Program are Tony Award winner Christian Borle, television and film actor Mark Consuelos, Emmy Award-winning television host Kathie Lee Gifford, and Tony Award winner Lin-Manuel Miranda.

buy tickets

Related Articles

From This Author BWW News Desk

Before you go...