COMFORT WOMEN: A New Musical Releases Original Off-Broadway Cast Album

COMFORT WOMEN: A New Musical Releases Original Off-Broadway Cast Album

The original Off-Broadway cast recording of "Comfort Women: A New Musical" will be available on iTunes, Spotify, Amazon Music and other streaming sites beginning on December 7th 2018.

"Comfort Women: A New Musical", written by Dimo Hyun Jun Kim, Osker David Aguirre, and Joann Malory Mieses, with music by Bryan Michaels and TaeHo Park was nominated for the Best Off-Broadway Musical by BroadwayWorld and has received critical acclaim for shedding a light on the untold story of 'comfort women.'

Set in Korea under Japanese colonial rule, "Comfort Women: A New Musical" tells a story about a Korean teenage girl named Goeun who embarks on a journey to Tokyo to make money for her family, but ends up at a 'comfort station' in Indonesia, where hundreds of teenage girls were abducted and forced to become sex slaves, also known as 'comfort women,' for the Japanese Imperial Army during World War II. The musical evolves around the stories of Goeun and other 'comfort women,' and the audience witnesses how such a tragedy can permanently and painfully transform the life of a young woman.

Abigail Choi Arader stars as Goeun Kim, with Matheus Ting as Minsik Lee, Leana Rae Concepcion as Namsoon Lee, Roni Shelley Perez as Soonja Ma and Kenny Mai as Matsui Kazuo.

"Comfort Women: A New Musical" finished its Off-Broadway 8 week performances September 2nd, 2019 at the Peter Jay Sharp Theater.

Featuring: Abigail Choi Arader, John Bernos, Sam Hamashima, Tenzin Yeshi, Sara States, Leana Rae Concepcion, Matheus Ting, Roni Shelley Perez, Kenny Mai, Dan Chen, Ben Wang, Mathew Bautista, Jake Vielbig, Stephanie Gong, Michelle Lim, Genevieve Shi, Emily Su, Chloe Rice, Shuyan Yang, Matthew Ting, Paulina Breeze, Yoomi Kim, Michelle Tsai and Andrew Lee.

This production was hosted by I.A. Lab and Hwarang Entertainment, and was produced by the Dimo Kim Musical Theater Factory, Sejoon Oh. It is supported by the Korean Council for the Women Drafted for Military Sexual Slavery by Japan, and featured talented Asian American theatre artists.

Album was recorded by Live Park LLC and produced by Dimo Kim Musical Theatre Factory.

AVAILABLE: iTunes, Apple Music, Spotify, Pandora, Amazon Music, Google Play, Napster, 7digital, Emusic, and MediaNet.

Related Articles View More Off-Broadway Stories   Shows

More Hot Stories For You