CTG Seeks Submissions for 2015 Richard E. Sherwood Award; Application Deadline 6/30/14

CTG Seeks Submissions for 2015 Richard E. Sherwood Award; Application Deadline 6/30/14

Center Theatre Group (CTG) is now accepting submissions for the 2015 Richard E. Sherwood Award. The Sherwood Award is an annual $10,000 fund to support Los Angeles theatre artists. The award is presented each year at the Ovation Awards ceremony produced by LA Stage Alliance.

CTG urges emerging artists to submit an application if they have resided in Los Angeles for at least two years, have produced or collaborated on at least two productions in Los Angeles, and are innovative, adventurous and inclined to push boundaries. The artist can be a performer, playwright, director, choreographer, designer or producer. Artists are not limited by title, role or genre but must have a relationship with the art of performance.

In addition to receiving a $10,000 grant, the Sherwood recipient will partner with CTG's Education and Community Partnerships department, and attend key CTG events throughout the year. Two additional finalists will receive a $2500 honorarium.

The deadline for submitting an application for the Sherwood Award is June 30, 2014. Further information about the Sherwood Award is available at www.CenterTheatreGroup.org/Sherwood or by emailing a request to Sherwood@CenterTheatreGroup.org.

Two orientations are offered to prospective applicants with questions or concerns about the application process. The orientation dates are Saturday, June 14 at 11 a.m. and Monday, June 16 at 7 p.m. RSVP deadlines and contact information are available at CenterTheatreGroup.org. Orientations will be held at the CTG offices at 601 W. Temple St., Los Angeles, CA 90012.

Established in the memory of Richard E. Sherwood, a lawyer, patron of the arts, president of LACMA and member of the Center Theatre Group board (serving as both CTG board president and chairman) from 1980 until his passing in 1993, the award is an endowed fund at CTG to honor Sherwood's passionate commitment to theatre.

Since 1996, 16 Los Angeles artists have received the Sherwood Award. The most recent Sherwood Award recipient was Miranda Wright, an independent theatre producer and the founding executive director of Los Angeles Performance Practice, an infrastructure and artists' network comprised of independent artists and companies who create groundbreaking theatrical experiences through innovative approaches to collaboration, technology and social engagement. Miranda is also the director and co- founder of the Center for Sustainable Practice in the Arts. Other recipients include John Sinner, a playwright, director, and Founder and Producing Artistic Director of Theatre Revelation; Christopher Kuhl, a lighting designer who works sculpturally and texturally with light; and Ann Closs-Farley, a costume designer emphasizing sustainability in her wildly creative costuming practices.

Related Articles

Los Angeles THEATER Stories | Shows  Like BWW LA  Follow BWW LA

From This Author BWW News Desk

Before you go...