MIRACLE ON 34TH STREET, THE MUSICAL Comes to the Arvada Center, 11/27-12/23

MIRACLE ON 34TH STREET, THE MUSICAL Comes to the Arvada Center, 11/27-12/23

The award winning Arvada Center will open Miracle on 34th Street, The Musical directed by Gavin Mayer on November 27 running through December 23, 2012 in the Main Stage Theater. The musical is based on the story "Miracle on 34th Street" by Valentine Davies; book, music and lyrics were written and composed by Meredith Willson (The Music Man and The Unsinkable Molly Brown). Performances are Tuesday – Saturday at 7:30 p.m., Wednesday at 1 p.m., Saturday and Sunday at 2 p.m. Preview performances are November 23 - 25. Moderated talkbacks with the cast are offered on Friday, December 7 after 7:30 p.m. show and Wednesday, December 12 after 1:00 p.m. show. For more information and to purchase tickets, go to www.arvadacenter.org or call 720-898-7200.

As Miracle on 34th Street unfolds, a wise old white bearded gentlemen claiming to be Kris Kringle shows up in New York City only to discover that the holiday to which he is eternally associated has become tarnished by commercialism and greed. When he gets hired as Santa Claus at Macy's, the jolly old gentleman goes about setting things right - even as events conspire against him. Based on the delightful movie classic that starred Edmund Gwenn as Kringle and a young Natalie Wood, this musical version includes memorable songs such as "Jolly Old Saint Nick," "The Holly and the Ivy" and more. As we get caught up in the hustle and bustle of the season, we all need a little break to remember that miracles do happen. The Miracle on 34th Street is pure family entertainment - make it part of your holiday celebration.

The principal and featured cast includes: Erick Devine (Kris Kringle); Lauren Shealy (Doris Walker); Jody Madaras (Fred Dailey); Regan Fenske (Susan Walker); Ben Dicke (Marvin Shellhammer); Mark Rubald (R. H. Macy); Darrel Blackburn (Mr. Sawyer); Shannan Steele (Miss Crookshank); Colin Alexander (Judge Martin Group); Joseph Bearss (Tammany O'Halloran) and Scott Severtson (DA Thomas Mara Sr.). Ensemble members are: Piper Lindsay Arpan; Netanel Bellaishe; Matthew Dailey; Aaron Davidson; Andrew Diessner; Heather Doris; Valerie Hill; Kitty Skillman Hilsabeck; Thadd Krueger; Daniel Langhoff; Emily Luhrs; Tim Roller; Alex Ryer; Maya Pingle Trinen; Stephen Turner; Markus Warren and Kimberley Wolff. The children ensemble members are: Damiana Bruenger (ensemble); Kaden Hinkle (ensemble); Ashlyn Faith Williams (Hendrika); Nate Kissingford (Tommy Mara Jr.) and Thomas Russo (Harry Finfer).

In addition to director Gavin Mayer, the creative team includes Rod A. Lansberry (artistic producer) David Nehls (musical director), Piper Lindsay Arpan (choreographer), Brian Mallgrave (scene design), Christine Campbell (costume design), David Thomas (sound design) and Vance McKenzie (light design).

Related Articles

Denver THEATER Stories | Shows  Follow BWW Denver

From This Author BWW News Desk

Before you go...