STAGE TUBE: Watch Highlights from O'Brien & Vinson's 'THERE'S SOMETHING THERE' at 54 Below, Featuring Emily Padgett and More

By: Oct. 07, 2015
Enter Your Email to Unlock This Article

Plus, get the best of BroadwayWorld delivered to your inbox, and unlimited access to our editorial content across the globe.

Existing user? Just click login.

Songwriting team Matte O'Brien and Matt Vinson made their 54 Below debut on September 27th with "There's Something There: The Music of Matt and Matte". Top Broadway vocalists accompanied by a power ensemble and live folk-rock band made this a sonic experience not to be missed. Click below to watch several performances from the show, featuring songs from CAKE, ANNE OF GREEN GABLES and PETER & I!

The night featured Emily Padgett (Side Show, Rock of Ages), Whitney Bashor (Bridges of Madison County, Beaches), Rema Webb (A New Brain NYCC, Violet, Book of Mormon), Nancy Anderson (Kiss me Kate: PBS Great Performances, Wonderful Town), Lauren Zakrin (Rock of Ages, Legally Blonde: Search for Elle Woods), Michelle Veintimilla (The Visit), Chris Dwan (Finding Neverland),Blake Whyte (Wicked, Mamma Mia), Jared Zirilli (Lysistrata Jones, Fat Camp, Wicked Tour), Geoffrey Kidwell (Rock of Ages), and Luke Wygodny (American Idiot). The cast also included Carly Augenstein,Christina D. Eskridge, John Garry, Brad Greer, Alyson Lange, and Christian Noojin.

Matt and Matte are New York-based music theatre writers whose eclectic style melds an emotional fusion of folk, rock, soul, and Broadway pop. For their 54 Below concert debut, they brought original songs from two upcoming collaborations: the pop-rock opera CAKE, based on the writings of Marie Antoinette and the Marquis de Sade, and an epic-folk adaptation of L.M. Montgomery's ANNE OF GREEN GABLES.

The evening also featured new arrangements of songs from their musical PETER & I, which previously enjoyed a sold-out Off-Broadway run at the American Theatre of Actors as part of the Araca Project. Padgett, Dwan, Zirilli, and Kidwell all reunited after having headlined the 2011 production.

Musical Direction was provided by Matt Vinson with accompaniment by band members Micah Burgess (Guitar), Alisa Horn (Cello) and Jeremy Yaddow (Drums). The evening was produced by Lee Ann Gullie, Justin Nichols, and Rope Swing Entertainment.