Prurient Premieres Glacial Noisescape 'Falling In The Water'

Prurient Premieres Glacial Noisescape 'Falling In The Water'

PRURIENT has released yet another track pulled from the expansive and forthcoming Rainbow Mirror, a release exceeding three hours in length. Marking the 20th anniversary of Prurient, the project will be released as a 4xCD and digital through Profound Lore on December 1stwith the 7xLP vinyl edition to be released on Hospital Productions the same day. Delving into pastoral, lulling soundscapes, Rainbow Mirror finds Dominick Fernow at his most cinematic and adventurous.

Stream the just-revealed Rainbow Mirror track "Falling in the Water" here.

Preorders are available at

Rainbow Mirror marks the second concord between Profound Lore and PRURIENT and stands as a monolith to the vast repertoire Fernow has produced under the PRURIENT moniker. The three-plus hour explores time, place, and sound using a menagerie of electronics, manifold feedback, machine-made loops and maximalist synth verses. Informed as much by the doldrums of Niagara Falls as much as the din of New York City, Rainbow Mirror is a portrait of the impasse between man and nature.

Harkening back to PRURIENT's original lineup two decades ago, the Rainbow Mirror lineup is comprised of three members. For this formidable project, Fernow enlisted the time and talents of Matt Folden (Dual Action) and Jim Mroz (Lussuria). Recorded live at Hospital Productions, each track was meticulously mixed and produced by Shifted in Berlin and mastered by Paul Corley.

Adding to the celebration of PRURIENT's 20th anniversary is a limited cassette from Hospital Productions. Entitled Buddha Strangled In Vines (1997), the cassette boasts three archival PRURIENT tracks dating back to the origins of the project's first tape recordings. The cassette will only be available to purchase at the Hospital Productions anniversary show in Brooklyn, NY on November 5th (a full event announcement can be found below), as well as via direct mail order.

November 5, 2017:

Popgun & Quo Vadis Present...

HOSPITAL PRODUCTIONS 20-YEAR ANNIVERSARY featuring GODFLESH (performing Streetcleaner) / NOTHING / JESU with PRURIENT / special guest BONE AWL + more

@ Warsaw (261 Driggs Avenue, Brooklyn NY)

2PM | All Ages | Advance Tickets:

Track listing for Rainbow Mirror is as follows. An array of preorder options are available now via Hospital Productions. The project will also be accompanied by a short story penned by Scott Bryan Wilson and Fernow.

Disc One:

1. Barefoot God

2. Walking On Dehydrated Coral

3. Midnight Kabar

4. Chaos - Sex

Disc Two:

1. Falling In The Water

2. Okinawan Burial Vaults

3. April Fool's Day Aspect Sinister

4. Cruel Worlds

Disc Three:

1. Naturecum

2. Blue Kimono Over Corpse

3. Path Is Short

4. Buddha Strangled In Vines (Part One)

5. Buddha Strangled In Vines (Part Two)

Disc Four (bonus shaped CD):

1. Lazarus Flamethrower Sleepwalk (bonus track)

2. Buddhist State (bonus track)

Track listing for the Buddha Strangled In Vines (1997) cassette (which will include the very first liner notes ever written for any PRURIENT release) as follows:

1. Rainbow Mirror

2. Buddha Strangled In Vines (1997)

3. What Will Be Our Ruin?

Related Articles View More Music Stories

More Hot Stories For You

Before you go...

Like Us On Facebook
Follow Us On Twitter
Follow Us On Instagram