Skip to main content Skip to footer site map

Placido Domingo Duets with Idina Menzel and More on New Album, 'My Christmas'


A heart-warming world of Christmas magic comes alive on Placido Domingo's new holiday album, My Christmas (Sony Classical). Available now, the album is filled with seasonal favorites, plus duets with a variety of special guests including Idina Menzel, Jackie Evancho, Placido Domingo Jr., The Piano Guys and others.

My Christmas features Domingo performing his favorites numbers like "Guardian Angels," the haunting song composed by Harpo Marx and made famous by Mario Lanza with Idina Menzel, fresh from her triumph as the voice of Queen Elsa in Disney's Frozen; "Pie Jesu" the pure, ethereal melody from Andrew Lloyd Webber with Jackie Evancho, the 15 year-old American singing phenomenon, who is also the youngest top-10 debut artist in U.S. history; "White Christmas," the evergreen Irving Berlin classic with his son Placido Domingo Jr.; and "Silent Night" with The Piano Guys, whose witty mash-ups of classical favorites and pop standards have been seen over half a billion times on YouTube.

Other artists featured on My Christmas singing holiday classics with Domingo include the German superstar Helene Fischer ("What Child Is This"), whose albums have sold more than 9 million copies to date; the French heart-throb tenor Vincent Niclo ("Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas"); and the New Zealand singer Hayley Westenra performing "Loving Christmas," a new song written by Placido Domingo Jr.

The must-hear seasonal favorites continue with Domingo and Banda el Recodo joining together for the Spanish-language standard "Feliz Navidad" as well as the Voices of Los Angeles Opera's Domingo-Colburn-Stein Young Artist Program for "God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen."

In addition to such well-loved songs, carols and anthems, there is Mendelssohn's rousing "Hark, the Herald Angels Sing"; and an arrangement of Mozart's sublime "Ave verum corpus," composed shortly before his death. A festive symphonic accompaniment is provided by Czech National Symphony Orchestra, conducted by Eugene Kohn.

Placido Domingo, now in his fifth decade of performing on the world's great stages, has had the most varied career in operatic history. The Spanish singer, now 74, has sung 147 different operatic roles, more than any other performer, and he is also celebrated for his hugely successful pop and Latin albums. A gifted conductor and artistic administrator as well, he is dedicated to supporting emerging singers through his international vocal competition, Operalia.

Sony Music Masterworks comprises Masterworks, Sony Classical, OKeh, Portrait, Masterworks Broadway and Flying Buddha imprints. For email updates and information please visit

Placido Domingo: My Christmas Tracklisting

1 Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas (with Vincent Niclo)

2 Guardian Angels (with Idina Menzel)

3 Silent Night (with The Piano Guys)

4 What Child Is This (with Helene Fischer)

5 God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen (with Voices of Los Angeles
Opera's Domingo-Colburn-
Stein Young Artist Program)

6 Hark The Herald Angels Sing

7 Pie Jesu from Requiem (with Jackie Evancho)

8 Astro del cielo

9 Loving Christmas With You (with Hayley Westenra)

10 It Came upon the Midnight Clear

11 White Christmas (with Placido Domingo Jr.)

12 Ave verum corpus K 618

13 Feliz Navidad (with Banda el Recodo)


Related Articles View More Music Stories

Featured on Stage Door

Shoutouts, Classes & More

More Hot Stories For You