Skip to main content Skip to footer site map

Ozzy Osbourne Confirms Release Date For New Album 'Patient Number 9'

The new album will be released on September 9.

Ozzy Osbourne Confirms Release Date For New Album 'Patient Number 9'

OZZY is back. Mark September 9 on your calendar as the release date for PATIENT NUMBER 9, Rock and Roll Hall of Fame inductee and Grammy®-winning singer and songwriter Ozzy Osbourne's new album and the first since his critically acclaimed, worldwide, chart-topping 2020 ORDINARY MAN release.

The album's self-titled first single and video have today (Friday, June 24) been released worldwide. Listen to "Patient Number 9" here and watch the video Grammy winner and multiple Grammy nominee Todd McFarlane-directed below.

"Having worked with Ozzy in the past, I jumped at another opportunity to do so again...especially on the music side this time," Todd McFarlane says. "In the harsh business called the music industry, any creative person who's sustained a multi-decades career has shown the skill, talent and tenacity that will always garner my admiration. Ozzy has shown many of us creative folks that it's indeed possible to make a living doing what you love for nearly an entire lifetime. Go, Ozzy!"

Produced by Andrew Watt (who handled the same duties on ORDINARY MAN) and set for release on Epic, the new album marks OSBOURNE's 13th solo studio album. It's heavy, it's hard-hitting, it's historic--it's everything you'd want from an Ozzy Osbourne record and maybe more.

"Patient Number 9" was written by OZZY, Watt, Robert Trujillo, Chad Smith and Ali Tamposi and features a riveting solo from legendary guitarist Jeff Beck (one of the notable guest stars on the album, additional details below). The video marks the first collaboration from the project with Emmy-and Grammy-winning director/producer Todd McFarlane.

It is highlighted by McFarlane's signature illustrations interspersed with live OZZY vignettes in the role of "Patient Number 9," which the revolutionary creative force in the world of comics and toys also filmed. In addition, this is the first-ever video to incorporate OZZY's artwork: his hand-drawn demons were animated and can be seen during the Jeff Beck solo in the song.

Working with producer Watt for the second time, OZZY welcomed a dynamic A-list supporting cast. The record boasts guitarists Jeff Beck, Eric Clapton, Mike McCready of Pearl Jam, and longstanding righthand man and six-string beast Zakk Wylde who plays on the majority of the tracks. For the bulk of the album, Chad Smith of Red Hot Chili Peppers held down drums, while the late Taylor Hawkins of Foo Fighters made an appearance.

Old friend and one-time OZZY band member Robert Trujillo of Metallica plays bass on most of the album's tracks, with Duff McKagan of Guns N' Roses and Chris Chaney of Jane's Addiction supplying bass on a few songs. For the first time ever, Black Sabbath co-founder, guitarist, and riff-lord Tony Iommi appears on an OZZY solo album.

He's sold over 100 million records, is one of a handful of artists who has had top ten albums in last six decades, received induction into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame® as a co-founder of Black Sabbath, won three GRAMMY® Awards, earned the Ivor Novello Award for Lifetime Achievement from the British Academy of Songwriters, Composers, and Authors, set a Guinness World Record, and claimed real estate on the Hollywood Walk of Fame and Birmingham Walk of Stars.

He's played for royalty (even the Queen of England) and dignitaries around the world, interacted with presidents and performed to millions of devoted fans on five continents. Earlier this year, Ozzy's CrytoBatz NFT launched as one the biggest Celebrity NFT project ever created, it's currently ranked in the top 100 biggest NFT projects ever and is valued at over $40 Million. That's the stuff you already know (we hope), but what really matters is Ozzy Osbourne is the real "Iron Man" and is still kicking ass and "going fing crazy!" to this day.

Watch the new music video here:


From This Author - Michael Major

The Stone Foxes Announce New LP 'On the Other Side'
August 12, 2022

“Man’s Red Fire” sets the tone for an album with the band’s signature rock n’ roll sound, combined with heavy influences of Ennio Morricone and driving percussion. The recording features Ian McDonald (Farfisa keys), Elliott Peck and Zola (high-octave vocalists), Marcus Stephens (horns),  Mario Silva (trumpet), and Danny Lubin-Laden (trombone).

VIDEO: Beyoncé Debuts 'I'm That Girl' Video Teaser
August 12, 2022

Beyoncé has shared the teaser for the upcoming 'I'M THAT GIRL' visual. A release date for the complete video has not yet been set. The visual teaser follows the recent visual for 'BREAK MY SOUL (The Queens Remix)' which featured Madonna. Watch the new video teaser for the upcoming visual now!

VIDEO: Carly Rae Jepsen Releases 'Beach House' Music Video
August 12, 2022

Featured in the clip are cameos played by some of Jepsen’s close friends and collaborators including bassist Bobby Wooten, tour manager Tony Marino, vocalist Sophi Bair, songwriter Ben Romans, producer Cole Marsden Greif-Neill, three-time video cameo friend Jimmy Loweree and friends Jenna Lightner, Kirsti Schroeder and Darwin Vanko.

Hollywood Undead Releases New Album 'Hotel Kalifornia'
August 12, 2022

Featuring recent singles “Trap God”, “City Of The Dead”, and “Wild In These Streets”, Hotel Kalifornia represents a return to form, in an action-packed, 14 track album highlighting the best aspects of what Hollywood Undead have become known for, the latest evidence being “Hourglass”, accompanied by a lyric video out now.

Vintage Culture & Three Drives Release 'Greece 2000'
August 12, 2022

There is magic in nostalgia, and this iconic crossover between electronic pioneers Vintage Culture and Three Drives proves it. Bridging a gap of twenty-five years of musical evolution, this contemporary reprise of ‘Greece 2000’ paints serene skies over the vibrant Balearic waves it radiates, rendering it a quintessential track for a sunset scene.