Mission Creek Festival Announces Additional Artists

The Mission Creek Festival has released the second announcement of artists performing at this year's festival. New acts scheduled to perform include supergroup Divine Fits, 30-piece punk marching band Mucca Pazza, rising metal group Pallbearer, and rock duo JEFF the Brotherhood. Other new additions are Mister Lies, Ital, Pete Swanson Future Rock, Pujol, Container, and Iowa-based artists Har-di-Har, Gloom Balloon, Mirror Coat, Ex-Action Model, No Coast, and Gem Jones.

This new announcement accentuates the festival's commitment to artistic diversity. Recently formed indie-rock supergroup Divine Fits is comprised of Spoon's Britt Daniel, Wolf Parade/Handsome Furs' Dan Boeckner, and Sam Brown from the New Bomb Turks. Underground metal band Pallbearer is touring in support of their critically acclaimed debut album Sorrow and Extinction (named Pitchfork's #1 Metal Album of 2012). Mucca Pazza, a 30-piece circus punk marching band from Chicago, brings their wild and exuberant music to The Englert Theatre.

These new acts join a lineup that already features headliners Grizzly Bear, Deerhoof, Iris DeMent, Tig Notaro, and Killer Mike. Details for the festival's literary events, food programming, and artists-in-residence series will be announced in the coming weeks.

Festival Dates:
April 2-7, 2013

Pass & Tickets Information:
All-Access Festival Passes ($125) are available now online at Midwestix and The Englert Theatre Box Office.

Confirmed Lineup Includes:
Grizzly Bear, Divine Fits, Deerhoof, Iris DeMent, Tig Notaro, Killer Mike, JEFF the Brotherhood, Pallbearer, Thao & The Get Down Stay Down, Owen Pallett, Exitmusic, Mucca Pazza, Ducktails, White Lung, Pete Swanson, Mister Lies, Emily Wells, Ital, Joe Pug, The Pines, Zammuto, Future Rock, Sallie Ford & The Sound Outside, Frank Fairfield, Pujol, Snowblink, Container, Détective, Dave Moore, Wet Hair, Slut River, Douglas Kramer Nye, The Multiple Cat, Love Songs for Lonely Monsters, AWTHNTKTS, Har-di-Har, Gloom Balloon, Mirror Coat, Ex-Action Model, No Coast, Gem Jones, Chasing Shade, Big Box, Mumford's

Writers: Cornelius Eady / Roxane Gay / Amber Tamblyn / Patricia Smith / Jennifer L. Knox / Rachel McKibbens / Beau Sia / Matt Hart / Michael Kimball / Derrick Brown / M. Bartley Seigel / Matt Bell / Johannes Goransson / Aase Berg / Lindsay Hunter / Janaka Stucky / Lisa Wells

Presses: Granta / Cave Canem / n+1 / A Strange Object / Vice Magazine / Black Ocean / Write Bloody Publishing / Dzanc Books / The Collagist / Forklift, Ohio / [PANK] / Spork Press / draft / MAKE Magazine / The Iowa Review / Hobart / Rescue Press / Wag's Revue / Perfect Day Publishing / University of Iowa Press / H_NGM_M / Futurepoem / Petri Press + more TBA

Related Articles View More Music Stories

More Hot Stories For You