Iron & Wine plays NYC/Port Chester in May

Iron and Wine makes its Nonesuch Records debut with Ghost on Ghostavailable now. Ghost on Ghost is the fifth release from singer-songwriterSam Beam, using the pen name Iron and Wine. The album was produced by Beam's longtime associate Brian Deck (Modest Mouse, Califone, Fruit Bats) and follows 2011's Kiss Each Other Clean, which debuted at #2 on the Billboard chart to critical acclaim. The new album has received early praise, with NPR Music calling Beam "a songwriter versatile enough to pack huge ideas into simple arrangements and vice versa."

The latest track "Grace for Saints and Ramblers" is streaming now and the latest video for "Joy" can be viewed at Iron and Wine will support the new release with tour dates throughout 2013. See below for details. Additionally, a limited-edition vinyl pressing of a 7" single, including two exclusive tracks, "Next to Paradise" and "Dirty Ocean," will be released in honor of Record Store Day on Saturday, April 20.

For Ghost on Ghost, Beam sought to move from what he called the "anxious tension" of his two previous records. "The manner in which I went about making this record felt like a reward to myself after the last few," he says. See below for full track listing.

Helping achieve Beam's vision was a group of stellar musicians including Rob Burger, Steve Bernstein, Brian Blade, Curtis Fowlkes, Tony Garnier, Marika Hughes, Briggan Kraus, Maxim Moston, Tony Scherr, Doug Wieselman, Kenny Wolleson, and Anja Wood. Burger (Tin Hat Trio) has worked with Beam intermittently through the years and handled arrangements for strings and horns on Ghost on Ghost. For the album's cover, Beam, who is also a visual artist, chose an image from the series "Private Views" by noted photographer Barbara Crane.

The first three Iron and Wine albums, released on Sub Pop, were The Creek Drank the Cradle (2002), Our Endless Numbered Days (2004), and The Shepherd's Dog (2007).

Related Articles View More Music Stories

More Hot Stories For You