Bear's Den's Sophomore EP 'Without/Within' Out Today

Without/Within, the sophomore EP from critically acclaimed British trio Bear's Den, is out now via Communion Records. The new music has received early critical acclaim-Rolling Stone, who streamed the recording week prior to release, hails it as "heartfelt, shimmering and adventurous follow up" while Paste admires the band's "full harmonies and truthful lyrics." To support the release, the band are currently on a nationwide tour including a stop at SXSW 2014. Tickets available at See full tour routing below.

Ian Grimble (Travis, Manic Street Preachers) produced Without/Within. Of the new music Andrew Davie (vocals, guitar) notes, "The songs were in many ways our most personal yet and also our most ambitious sonically. Joey's playing is particularly beautiful to me and his guitar and banjo melodies carry the songs so perfectly at times. Kev was experimenting more with synth bass and piano on top of drums before anyone else even picked anything up. I was experimenting for the first time in my life really on electric guitar and with delayed and reversed guitar loops. We all had our own responsibilities within this record and we all had complete belief and trust in each other. We wanted to push ourselves so that we could grow into the songs on the road and hopefully push ourselves to become a better live band because of it." See track listing below
Without/Within follows the band's 2013 U.S. debut Agape (ag-ah'-pay) which received widespread praise-New York Times T Magazine premiered the title track ( and the band was recently featured on NPR's "World Café Live" ( Since the release of Agape, Bear's Den embarked on a massive three-month tour of the U.S., Australia and Europe including support slots with Mumford & Sons, Daughter and Matt Corby. The band is currently in the studio working on their debut LP slated for later this year.
Davie, Joey Haynes (vocals, banjo) and Kevin Jones (vocals, drums) make up Bear's Den. The London-based trio played music in various incarnations before officially forming the band in 2012. They developed a cult following in their short existence as a result of their writing, harmonies, D.I.Y. approach with custom hand-stamped CDs, and extensive touring. It was only after finding their identity on the road that the band focused their attention on studio recordings.
Without/Within Track Listing
1. Sahara pt. I
2. Sahara pt. II
3. Don't Let The Sun Steal You Away
4. Writing on the Wall
5. Sophie
6. My Lair
Bear's Den Tour Dates
March 4 New York, NY Rockwood Music Hall
March 5 Washington, DC Gypsy Sally's
March 6 Philadelphia, PA Underground Arts
March 9 Nashville, TN 3rd & Lindsley
March 10 Atlanta, GA The Earl
March 12-15 Austin, TX SXSW
March 19 Los Angeles, CA Hotel Café
March 20 San Francisco, CA The Chapel
March 22 Seattle, WA Crocodile
March 23 Portland, OR Doug Fir
March 24 Vancouver Media Club
March 27 Minneapolis, MN Turf Club
March 28 Omaha, NE Waiting Room
March 29 Madison, WI The Frequency
March 30 Chicago, IL Schuba's

Related Articles View More Music Stories

More Hot Stories For You

Before you go...

Never Miss a Story
Like Us On Facebook
Follow Us On Twitter
Follow Us On Instagram instagram