Ken Pisani's AMP'D Nominated for Thurber Prize

Thurber House has announced that, along with host of The Daily Show Trevor Noah and novelist Aaron Thier, Ken Pisani is one of three finalists for the coveted Thurber Prize for American Humor for his debut novel AMP'D, published by St. Martin's Press.

The winner will be announced at a ceremony at Carolines Comedy Club in New York City on October 2, 2017. The winner of the prize receives $5,000, a commemorative plaque, and is invited to Thurber House in Columbus, Ohio as a featured guest at a special event.

Currently, AMP'D is being developed as a television series.

A Los Angeles Times best seller, Pisani's sharp and hilarious novel AMP'D tells the story of Aaron, who returns to his boyhood home after he loses his arm in a car accident, forcing the most awkward of family reunions as he struggles to feel whole again.

As Aaron tries to make the world around him disappear in a haze of painkillers and medical marijuana, the only true joy in his life comes from daily ninety-second radio spots of fun science facts: the speed of falling raindrops, batteries made out of starfish, and sexual responses triggered by ringtones -- all told in the lush, disembodied voice of commentator Sunny Lee, with whom he falls helplessly, ridiculously, in love. Aaron's obsession with Sunny only hastens his downward spiral, like pouring accelerant on a fire. Pressured to do something - anything - to move his life forward, he takes the only job he can get: as a "fish counter" at the nearby dam, where he concludes that an act of violent sacrifice to liberate the river might be his best, final option.

KEN PISANI is a television writer and producer, screenwriter, playwright, comic book author, novelist and, like James Thurber, a former cartoonist. (Ken needs to learn how to focus.) He lives in Los Angeles with his beautiful wife Amanda, and is allergic to dogs. He is currently working on a variety of film, television, and comic book projects, and his second novel for St. Martin's. Ken is represented by Aghassi Literary Management.

To learn more about Ken Pisani and his work, visit:

Named after American humorist James Thurber, THE THURBER PRIZE is bestowed annually in recognition of outstanding contributions in humor writing. Past winners include David Sedaris, Jon Stewart, Alan Zweibel, Ian Frazier, David Rakoff, Calvin Trillin, and Julie Schumacher.

To learn more about the Thurber Prize, visit: