BWW Interview: #1 New York Times Best Selling Author Marissa Meyer, Author of Brand-New Novel RENEGADES

BWW Interview: #1 New York Times Best Selling Author Marissa Meyer, Author of Brand-New Novel RENEGADESSecret Identities. Extraordinary Powers. She wants vengeance. He wants justice.

The Renegades are a syndicate of prodigies-humans with extraordinary abilities-who emerged from the ruins of a crumbled society and established peace and order where chaos reigned. As champions of justice, they remain a symbol of hope and courage to everyone...except the villains they once overthrew.

Nova has a reason to hate the Renegades, and she is on a mission for vengeance. As she gets closer to her target, she meets Adrian, a Renegade boy who believes in justice-and in Nova. But Nova's allegiance is to a villain who has the power to end them both.

-RENEGADES by Marissa Meyer releases November 7, 2017 from Macmillan Feiwel & Friends.

RENEGADES by Marissa Meyer comes out TOMORROW and is the first in a planned duology. Check back later this week for BroadwayWorld's review of this action-fueled new novel. You're going to want to pick this one up right away!

BWW was lucky enough to sit down for a brief chat with Marissa on the eve of her book launch, and here's what she had to dish about her new series:

You've created an awesome world of superheroes, villains, and action/intrigue. What kinds of readers beyond your fans for the Lunar Chronicles do you hope to attract?

Usually when I stop to think about the "audience" for any particular book, I find myself picturing, well... me. As with my previous novels, RENEGADES is the sort of book that I like to read. There's action, superpowers, a star-crossed romance, a touch of humor, heroes and villains, mysteries and secrets and lies, a world in danger. I try to write the best book I can and hope that it will find and appeal to other readers who like the same sorts of things that I do. Of course, I hope that fans of classic superhero stories will love it, and I hope that readers who enjoyed The Lunar Chronicles or HEARTLESS will enjoy it, too, but I also hope it will find a new readership all on its own.

Any hints as to the future romantic prospects of Nova and Adrian?

Ha! I would say that this entire book is one giant hint. *wink*

You're planning one more book in the Renegades world, in Fall 2018. After that, any hints as to what's next?

I have so many ideas! I am honestly not sure which I will dive into next, as my focus right now is on getting the second Renegades book wrapped up. But I can say that I have ideas for another fairy tale retelling, a couple ideas for contemporary romances and one magical realism, one horror/thriller idea that's been nagging at me for a long time, and concepts for a couple more graphic novels. I want to write them all! So we'll see which is tugging at my heart the most when the time comes.

About Marissa Meyer:

BWW Interview: #1 New York Times Best Selling Author Marissa Meyer, Author of Brand-New Novel RENEGADES
Photo: Julia Scott

Marissa Meyer is the #1 New York Times-bestselling author of HEARTLESS and The Lunar Chronicles. She lives in Tacoma, Washington, with her husband and twin daughters. She's a fan of most things geeky (Sailor Moon, Firefly, any occasion that requires a costume), and has been in love with fairy tales since she was a child. She may or may not be a cyborg.

Related Articles View More Books Stories   Shows









From This Author Bonnie Lynn Wagner

Before you go...

Like Us On Facebook
Follow Us On Twitter
Follow Us On Instagram
   



  SHARE