BWW Interview: #1 New York Times Best Selling Author Marissa Meyer, Author of Brand-New Novel RENEGADES

BWW Interview: #1 New York Times Best Selling Author Marissa Meyer, Author of Brand-New Novel RENEGADES

BWW Interview: #1 New York Times Best Selling Author Marissa Meyer, Author of Brand-New Novel RENEGADESSecret Identities. Extraordinary Powers. She wants vengeance. He wants justice.

The Renegades are a syndicate of prodigies-humans with extraordinary abilities-who emerged from the ruins of a crumbled society and established peace and order where chaos reigned. As champions of justice, they remain a symbol of hope and courage to everyone...except the villains they once overthrew.

Nova has a reason to hate the Renegades, and she is on a mission for vengeance. As she gets closer to her target, she meets Adrian, a Renegade boy who believes in justice-and in Nova. But Nova's allegiance is to a villain who has the power to end them both.

-RENEGADES by Marissa Meyer releases November 7, 2017 from Macmillan Feiwel & Friends.

RENEGADES by Marissa Meyer comes out TOMORROW and is the first in a planned duology. Check back later this week for BroadwayWorld's review of this action-fueled new novel. You're going to want to pick this one up right away!

BWW was lucky enough to sit down for a brief chat with Marissa on the eve of her book launch, and here's what she had to dish about her new series:

You've created an awesome world of superheroes, villains, and action/intrigue. What kinds of readers beyond your fans for the Lunar Chronicles do you hope to attract?

Usually when I stop to think about the "audience" for any particular book, I find myself picturing, well... me. As with my previous novels, RENEGADES is the sort of book that I like to read. There's action, superpowers, a star-crossed romance, a touch of humor, heroes and villains, mysteries and secrets and lies, a world in danger. I try to write the best book I can and hope that it will find and appeal to other readers who like the same sorts of things that I do. Of course, I hope that fans of classic superhero stories will love it, and I hope that readers who enjoyed The Lunar Chronicles or HEARTLESS will enjoy it, too, but I also hope it will find a new readership all on its own.

Any hints as to the future romantic prospects of Nova and Adrian?

Ha! I would say that this entire book is one giant hint. *wink*

You're planning one more book in the Renegades world, in Fall 2018. After that, any hints as to what's next?

I have so many ideas! I am honestly not sure which I will dive into next, as my focus right now is on getting the second Renegades book wrapped up. But I can say that I have ideas for another fairy tale retelling, a couple ideas for contemporary romances and one magical realism, one horror/thriller idea that's been nagging at me for a long time, and concepts for a couple more graphic novels. I want to write them all! So we'll see which is tugging at my heart the most when the time comes.

About Marissa Meyer:

BWW Interview: #1 New York Times Best Selling Author Marissa Meyer, Author of Brand-New Novel RENEGADES
Photo: Julia Scott

Marissa Meyer is the #1 New York Times-bestselling author of HEARTLESS and The Lunar Chronicles. She lives in Tacoma, Washington, with her husband and twin daughters. She's a fan of most things geeky (Sailor Moon, Firefly, any occasion that requires a costume), and has been in love with fairy tales since she was a child. She may or may not be a cyborg.

Related Links
BWW Previews: Black Friday Signed Editions Return to Barnes And Noble Stores with over 150 Authors!BWW Previews: Black Friday Signed Editions Return to Barnes And Noble Stores with over 150 Authors!
by Bonnie Lynn Wagner - November 16, 2017

More From This Author

Bonnie Lynn Wagner Bonnie Lynn Wagner has been a reader for as long as she can remember. Friends frequently come to her for book recommendations, and eventually, she decided to start reviewing books in order to share her love of them with everyone! While her favorite genre is fantasy, she reads and reviews many others, from contemporary novels to juvenile picture books.

When she isn't reviewing books, you can find her on Twitter @abackwardsstory talking about musicals, nail polish, and Disney, among other things!

She continues to review at http://abackwardsstory.blogspot.com if you'd like even more book recommendations!