4th Quarter Finalists Announced in L. Ron Hubbard Writers of the Future Contest

Hollywood, CA -- In what is the largest contest of its kind in the world, finalists for the 4th quarter of the 30th year of the L. Ron Hubbard Writers of the Future Contest, specializing in fantasy and science fiction were announced today by Dave Wolverton, contest coordinating judge.

The finalists are from Australia and the United States.


Kate Hall of Minnesota
C. Stuart Hardwick of Texas
Oleg Kazantsev of Chicago
Joel G. Kempff of Montana
Stephanie Loree of Ohio
Fi Mitchell of New South Wales, Australia
Megan E. O'Keefe of California
William R.D. Wood of Virginia

The eight finalists' stories are sent to four of the contest judges. Of those eight stories, three winners will be chosen from that quarter as winners. There is a 1st, 2nd and 3rd place winner every quarter. They are awarded cash prizes, a week long intensive workshop, an awards ceremony and are also published in the annual L. Ron Hubbard Presents Writers of the Future.

A Grand Prize winner is announced at the annual awards ceremony and is awarded an additional $5,000.00 and is also selected from a separate panel of judges.

"The Writers of the Future Contest is the most effective means for aspiring writers to make their break in the publishing industry," Wolverton said. "That's because our winners are judged by professional writers from a pool of thousands of entries worldwide." Well-known contest judges include multiple Nebula and Hugo Award winners and finalists such as Kevin J. Anderson, Orson Scott Card, Larry Niven, Jerry Pournelle, Tim Powers, Robert J. Sawyer, and Sean Williams, to name a few.

For more information about the contest, go to www.writersofthefuture.com or call the contest at 323-466-3310.

Related Articles View More Books Stories

More Hot Stories For You