Skip to main content Skip to footer site map

Introducing Kalavinka, The LEIMAY Annual Gala Honoring Meredith Monk

Introducing Kalavinka, The LEIMAY Annual Gala Honoring Meredith MonkThis December 12th, 2017, LEIMAY will host Kalavinka, their third annual Gala at their home studio, CAVE, in Williamsburg Brooklyn, where they will honor acclaimed composer, singer, and choreographer Meredith Monk.

Expect to be immersed in a unique environment of installations and performances by guest artists including Brooklyn-based and critically acclaimed composer Missy Mazzoli, LA-based composer and media artist Pamela Z, Meredith Monk vocal ensemble member Ellen Fisher, and a voice and piano performance by Meredith Monk.

Kalavinka will also celebrate the work of LEIMAY's co-directors Shige Moriya and Ximena Garnica with featured excerpts from two new works, an installation performance featuring Ximena and Shige's LEIMAY Ensemble and a short solo performed by LEIMAY Ensemble core member Andrea Jones.

The Kalavinka dinner includes a 5-course menu created with locally-sourced and home-grown ingredients by Japanese-American Chef, Ai Ito, and will be served in a performative parade by the LEIMAY Ensemble.

The event will wind down with the third Connect with LEIMAY after-party featuring an open bar and dance party with a set and original songs by DJ Socrates in this additional opportunity for the community to connect with LEIMAY's artists and ensemble in their home and workspace.

The night seeks to trace LEIMAY's origins and conjure an all-encompassing experience to reflect the world that LEIMAY inhabits. The evening will bring together artists and friends of LEIMAY with art lovers and supporters at CAVE for an intimate seated dinner. All proceeds from Kalavinka will go towards all of LEIMAY's community programs at CAVE as well as the upcoming works of LEIMAY artistic directors Ximena Garnica and Shige Moriya to be presented in 2018.

Kalavinka Gala Committee:

Honorary Chair: Marina Abramovi?; Gala Co-Chairs: Helen Little and Maria Bacardi

Gala Committee: Jeff Beal, Theo Bleckmann, Claire Chase, Helga Davis, Ellen Fisher, Philip Glass, Claude Grunitzky, Alanna Heiss, Kristin Marting, Missy Mazzoli, Jenni Muldaur, Paola Prestini, Lyndley Schwab, Peter Sciscioli, Kim Whitener, Robert Wilson, Pamela Z, and Raul Zbengheci.

Official Wine Sponsor: Vias Wines / Official Gin: New York Distilling Company / Official Beer: Brooklyn Brewery / Official Vodka: 44° North Vodka

For more information and to purchase tickets:

Kalavinka NY Charities page [];

LEIMAY Website [

Featured on Stage Door

Shoutouts, Classes, and More from Your Favorite Broadway Stars

Related Articles View More Brooklyn Stories

More Hot Stories For You