Skip to main content Skip to footer site map

Presenters, Performers Set for 16th Annual HELPMANN AWARDS Ceremony


The 16th Annual Helpmann Awards, presented by Live Performance Australia, will be held on Monday 25 July at 7.30pm at the Sydney Lyric Theatre.

The Helpmann Awards are the premier celebration of Australia's vibrant live performance industry and recognise distinguished achievement and excellence in Australia's live performance sectors. Nominations for this year's 41 awards were announced on 20 June across the country. Excitement is building for the announcement of the 2016 winners on Monday 25 July.

The 16th Annual Helpmann Awards Ceremony will feature sensational performances including:

  • Singin' in the Rain -"Overture" and "Good Mornin'" starring Grant Almirall, Gretel Scarlett and Jack Chambers; and "Singin' in the Rain" full cast finale
  • Sarah Blasko - "Luxurious"
  • Sydney International Piano Competition - 1st prize winner
  • Matilda the Musical - "Quiet" starring all eight Matildas from the Sydney and Melbourne seasons
  • Marina Prior and Mark Vincent - "Time to Say Goodbye"
  • West Australian Ballet - "On The Nature of Daylight" pas de deux starring Sandy Delasalle and Matthew Lehmann
  • Ladies in Black - "Ladies in Black" starring Lucy Maunder, Kate Cole, Kathryn McIntyre, Deidre Rubenstein, Carita Farrer Spencer, Sarah Morrison and Naomi Price
  • The Sound of Music - "Do-Re-Mi" starring Amy Lehpamer, Stefanie Jones and the von Trapp children; and "Climb Ev'ry Mountain" starring Jacqueline Dark

The 16th Annual Helpmann Awards Ceremony Hosts are:

Chloe Dallimore, Helen Dallimore, Stuart Maunder AM, Guy Noble, Simon Phillips, The Umbilical Brothers and Queenie van de Zandt as "Jan Van Der Stool".

The high-profile line-up of Presenters include:

Kellie Dickerson, Tim Draxl, Marta Dusseldorp, Tim Finn, Antoinette Halloran, Noni Hazlehurst, Erika Heynatz, Celia Ireland, Tim Minchin, Hunter Page-Lochard, Katrina Milosevic, Milijana Nikolic, Eddie Perfect, Aurélien Scannella, The Hon Jillian Skinner MP and Toby Thatcher.

The Executive Producer of the Helpmann Awards, Jon Nicholls, said "We are incredibly lucky to have such formidable talent in this country and it is with the greatest of pleasure we showcase some of them tonight as they celebrate and salute the excellence of their colleagues".

Live Performance Australia (LPA) Chief Executive, Evelyn Richardson said "Australia is home to an incredible array of exciting and creative talent across all genres. It's wonderful that we are able to showcase a snapshot of what our industry offers at the same time as we honour all the nominees and award recipients on the night".

As previously announced, Stephen Page, Artistic Director of Bangarra Dance Theatre, will be presented with the 2016 JC Williamson Award. This Award is bestowed on an individual who has made a truly outstanding contribution to the enrichment of Australia's live performance culture and shaped the future of the industry for the better.

In addition, Michael Lynch CBE AM will be presented with the 2016 Sue Nattrass Award. This prestigious Award honours exceptional service to the Australian live performance industry, shining a spotlight on people in service roles that support our industry.

The 2016 Helpmann Awards will also incorporate the final Brian Stacey Award for Emerging Australian Conductors. This year the award will be presented to Toby Thatcher, currently Assistant Conductor for the Sydney Symphony Orchestra, who will receive a $10,000 prize.

The 2016 Helpmann Awards Ceremony will be performed on the set of Singin' in the Rain, at the Sydney Lyric Theatre and will be broadcast live on Foxtel Arts and webcast free via

The Helpmann Awards are proudly supported by the New South Wales Government, through its tourism and major events agency, Destination NSW.

Tickets can be purchased for the 16th Annual Helpmann Awards and are available now from Ticketmaster. Bookings at Gold Star Package - Show and After Party ticket $175*. Show only ticket $55*. *Subject to availability. Price is inclusive of credit card processing fees of 1.95% and GST. An additional transaction fee of $8.35 is applicable to all online bookings per transaction.

Related Articles View More Australia - Melbourne Stories

Featured on Stage Door

Shoutouts, Classes & More

More Hot Stories For You