WHITE NOISE Begins Open-Ended Run in Chicago


As previously reported, White Noise, the new rock musical directed and choreographed by Broadway's Sergio Trujillo will play an 8-week limited engagement with previews beginning on April 1, 2011 and opening April 9, 2011. Featuring a cast of nineteen, the production will run at The Royal George Theatre, 1641 North Halsted Street. 

White Noise is produced by Holly Way, Jay Strommen, Tom Leonardis, and Whoopi Goldberg.

White Noise is a provocative new rock musical that follows a pair of sisters who are discovered by a powerful record producer, and groomed into a well-packaged rock/pop band, which mixes irresistible harmonies with coded rhetoric into chart-blazing hits. Inspired by real life, White Noise fuses today's headlines and blogs into a cautionary tale that challenges conventional notions of free speech, media and the power of pop culture.

Directed and choreographed by Sergio Trujillo, whose recent Broadway credits include Jersey Boys (2006 Tony Award and 2009 Olivier Award for Best Musical), Next to Normal (Pulitzer Prize for Drama), Memphis (2010 Tony Award for Best Musical), The Addams Family; Guys and Dolls and All Shook Up, White Noise features a book by Matte O'Brien and music and lyrics by Robert Morris, Steven Morris and Joe Shane. White Noise was originally conceived by Ryan J. Davis with a story and characters by Joe Drymala.

Producer Whoopi Goldberg comments, "White Noise smacks you in a challenging, emotional and entertaining way. The producing team looks forward to bring this unflinchingly honest new production to Chicago where audiences are sophisticated, aware and open to a musical that will certainly remind them of today's headlines and might awaken a new awareness of current social issues."

The cast includes Doug Sills (The Scarlet Pimpernel, Little Shop of Horrors) as Max, MacKenzie Mauzy (Next to Normal, Guiding Light, The Bold and the Beautiful) as Eva, Emily Padgett (Rock of Ages, Grease, Legally Blonde) as Eden, Patrick Murney (The Abingdon Theater, Edinburgh Fringe Festival) as Duke and Eric Morris (Mama Mia!, Coram Boy, As The World Turns) as Jake lead the "White Noise" band. The "Bloodbrothas" rap duo is played by Wallace Smith (American Idiot, Hair, Lion King) as Dion and Rodney Hicks (The Scottsboro Boys, Rent, Jesus Christ Superstar) as Tyler. Also featured are Luba Mason (How to Succeed..., Chicago) as Laurel and Michael Buchanan (Cry Baby, Urinetown at the Mercury Theatre) as Teal Waters. The cast of 21 also includes Joseph Anthony Byrd, Kelli Eileen LaValle, Tess Soltau, Ashley Adamek, Erin McGrath, John Arthur Greene, and Constantine Rousouli. The musicians featured in White Noise include Jesse Vargas (Musical Director, keyboard), Matt Hinkley (keyboard), Hannah Ford (drums), Ben Mason (bass) and Mike O'Meara (guitarist).

The set is designed by Robert Brill, costumes by Paul Tazewell, lights by Jason Lyons, sound by Garth Helm, and multi-media design by Raj Kapoor.

White Noise had an early developmental production in the 2006 NY Musical Theatre Festival, and then was fully re-developed and went on to a critically-acclaimed and sold-out engagement at New Orleans' Le Petit Theatre du Vieux Carre in July 2009.

For more information visit www.whitenoisebroadway.com.


Related Articles

From This Author BWW News Desk

Before you go...