STAGE TUBE: 2010 Theatre Museum Award Highlights

By: Jun. 04, 2010

On May 17, 2010 Versatile Broadway performer John Bolton, Tony award-winning actor Jim Dale, renown musical conductor Aaron Gandy and Tony Walton, Jennifer Evans, Kevin Cahoon, Jessica Grove, Noah Racey and Annika Boras partook in The Theatre Museum's 2010 Awards Ceremony. The Awards Gala, which took place at the New York Players Club, was directed by Tony Walton. Aaron Gandy served as Musical Director.

The evening honored musical legends Richard M Sherman and Robert B. Sherman, who received the Theatre Museum's Career Achievement Award, the Mint Theatre Company for Theatre Preservation, and Samuel French Inc. for Theatre Arts Education.

Below, BroadwayWorld brings you a video recap of the evening. As the evening celebrated the music of Career Achievement Award winners Richard M Sherman and Robert B. Sherman, the first video is jam-packed with musical samplings from the brother's four stage productions -- "Over Here," Mary Poppins," "Chitty Chitty Bang Bang" and "Busker Alley." Popular stage performers who helped bring their songs to life included Jim Dale, Sarah Rice, Jennifer Evans, Kevin Cahoon, Jessica Grove', Noah Racey, Greg Mills, Annika Boras, Noah Pelty, Phoebe Costello, Joseph Bentley and United We Sing. John Bolton, the night's Master of Ceremony, belted out "You're Sixteen," one of The Sherman Brothers first song hits. Pianist/Arranger Mark York tirelessly manned the piano, accompanying all the performances. The only time he left his post was so Richard M. Sherman, who, after accepting the award, could accompany himself for his renditions of "Winnie the Pooh" and "It's a Small World."

The second video features the evening's other two honorees. Leon Embry, President and CEO of Samuel French accepted the Theatre Arts Education Award on behalf of the legendary play publisher. It was presented by Tappan Wilder, nephew of Thorton Wilder and literary executor and manager of his uncle's intellectual property. The Mint Theater was honored with the Theatre History Preservation Award. It was accepted by Jonathan Banks, Artistic Director of the Mint and presented by Broadway and television performer George Morfogen. This video also features Theatre Museum President Helen Guditis, Chairman of the Board Stewart F. Lane and Bonnie Comley, head of The Museum's advisory committee.

The videos were created exclusively for The Theatre Museum by New York/Los Angeles-based Production Company Never Dull Productions (

The Theatre Museum continues the legacy The Broadway Theatre Institute began in 1995 by presenting Awards for Excellence in both Theatre History Preservation and Theatre Arts Education.

From 1986 - 2003, the Broadway Theatre Institute developed programs that fostered the perpetuation and appreciation of theatre in New York and served more than 100,000 children and adults in New York City. It's evolution and merger into The Theatre Museum in 2003 was the next step in its development.

For more information on The Theatre Museum, visit