SHUCKED's Alex Newell Wins 2023 Tony Award for Best Performance by an Actor in a Featured Role in a Musical

Alex Newell stars as Lulu in Shucked, which is currently running at the Nederlander Theatre.

Jun. 11, 2023
Shucked Show Information
Get Show Info Info
Get Tickets from: $61.50
Enter Your Email to Unlock This Article

Plus, get the best of BroadwayWorld delivered to your inbox, and unlimited access to our editorial content across the globe.

Existing user? Just click login.

Alex Newell has won the 2023 Tony Award for Best Performance by an Actor in a Featured Role in a Musical for Shucked. Newell makes history as the first gender-nonconforming performer to win a Tony Award.

Alex Newell has an extensive list of credits both in Broadway and television. TV credits include the recent fan favorite “Zoey’s Extraordinary Playlist” along with the Emmy®-nominated Christmas special; “Our Kind of People,” and two hit Fox series, “Empire” and “Glee.” Alex has received overwhelming accolades and award nominations including Critics Choice, Gold Derby, Screen Actors Guild, and Hollywood Critics Association. Broadway credits include Once On This Island, which earned a Grammy® nomination for Best Musical Theater Album, and the show won the Tony for Best Musical Revival. Recently, Alex starred in the pre-Broadway show, The Last Supper. As a singer, Newell has released tracks with Clean Bandit, Blonde, and The Knocks.

Shucked is currently running at the Nederlander Theatre.

What do you get when you pair a semi-neurotic, New York comedy writer with two music superstars from Nashville? A hilarious and audacious farm-to-fable musical about the one thing Americans everywhere can't get enough of: corn. Shucked is the new musical comedy that proves sometimes tearing down a few walls, rather than growing them, is the only way to preserve our way of life. Shucked is about to turn Broadway on its ear and offer a kernel of hope for our divided nation. The new original musical comedy features a book by Robert Horn and score by the Nashville songwriting team of Brandy Clark and Shane McAnally.

Vote Sponsor