'One Night Stand' Documentary Feat. Cheyenne Jackson, Jesse Tyler Ferguson, Mandy Gonzalez et al. Makes NewFest Premiere, 7/24

The hilarious documentary "One Night Stand" gives an unbridled and candid look behind the Broadway curtain, as some of New York's top theatre, film and television actors, writers and directors are given 24 hours to write, cast, rehearse and perform four short musicals. Likened to ‘A Chorus Line' meets ‘Project Runway', ‘One Night Stand' captures the excitement, anxiety, camaraderie, and sheer panic that leads to the final thrill of the finished performance. From the blank page to the live stage: "One Night Stand' unveils the magic as talented artists take the dare to create something from nothing.

Among the talented participants are: Actors: Cheyenne Jackson, Jesse Tyler Ferguson, Mandy Gonzalez, Nellie McKay, Tracie Thoms, Alicia Witt, Richard Kind, Rachel Dratch, Roger Bart, Tamara Tunie, Scarlet Strallen, Theresa McCarthy, Capathia Jenkins, Marnie Schulenburg; Writers: Gina Gionfriddo, Jonathan Marc Sherman, Rinne Groff, Brian Crawley; Composers: Lance Horne, Robin Goldwasser and Julia Greenberg, Pasek and Paul, Gabe Kahane; Directors: Ted Sperling, Trip Cullman, Maria Mileaf, Sam Gold.

The film's world premiere at the NewFest Film Festival in NYC will be attended by several of the film's stars, including Cheyenne Jackson, Richard Kind, Nellie McKay, and Mandy Gonzalez, and will be followed by a Q&A with first-time directors Elisabeth Sperling and Trish Dalton.

The 24 Hour Musicals event was conceived as a fundraiser for The Exchange, which supports innovative theater companies in the U.S. and abroad.

"One Night Stand' will leave its audience laughing, humming, and inspired to take creative risks.

Tickets are on sale at:


See a three-minute trailer here: http://www.onenightstand-themovie.com/


Photo Credit: Walter McBride/WM Photos

Related Articles

More Hot Stories For You

Mariah Lyttle to Lead THE COLOR PURPLE 2019-20 Tour
TROIKA Entertainment announced today the tour cities and casting for the 2019-20 North American tour of the Tony Award-winning Broadway revival of THE... (read more)

Renée Fleming Will Lead a North American Tour of THE LIGHT IN THE PIAZZA
Renée Fleming will reprise her starring turn in The Light in the Piazza in the United States this fall. Adam Guettel and Craig Lucas' six-time Tony Aw... (read more)

Lady Gaga Rumored to Be Considering Role in LITTLE SHOP OF HORRORS Film
Lady Gaga is surely a woman of many talents ranging from pop superstar to screen icon. With the success of her roles on American Horror Story and in A... (read more)

Kristin Chenoweth Will Bring FOR THE GIRLS Solo Show to Broadway This Fall!
Kristin Chenoweth will return to the Broadway stage in a live concert celebrating the release of her new album FOR THE GIRLS (Concord Records, produce... (read more)

National Tour Of XANADU Featuring 'RuPaul's Drag Race' Stars Put On Hold
The National Tour of the Tony Award-nominated roller-skating smash hit musical Xanadu, has announced an indefinite postponement.... (read more)

DVR Alert: Broadway's NEWSIES To Premiere On Freeform Tomorrow!
Newsies: The Broadway Musical is set to premiere on Freeform tomorrow morning!... (read more)