Karen Akers, Nellie McKay Set for 2012 Nightlife Awards, 1/30


The cast of the 10th Annual Nightlife Awards reaches critical mass with the addition of Tony Nominee and Nightlife Legend KAREN AKERS and nightlife and recording sensation NELLIE McKAY. They join a cast that already includes TERRI WHITE (Follies), who spent a great many years as one of New York's most exciting piano bar entertainers and will be honored with a Special Award for her Contributions to New York Nightlife. As is always the case with The All-Performance Nightlife Awards, Terri will take the stage and sing. Heralded TV and nightclub comedian, RAY ELLIN, is on tap to perform on Monday night, as are two former Nightlife Jazz Award winners Vocalist winners, ALLAN HARRIS and KAREN OBERLIN.

These great talents are joining the previously announced special award winners that will perform at the January 30th concert at Town Hall, the re-united musical comedy group, CHRIS DURANG & DAWNE, 90 year old Jazz Legend JON HENDRICKS, who has been called "The Poet Laureate of Jazz." Songwriter/singer AMANDA McBROOM also receives special honors for her rich contributions to our nightlife with both her songs and her consistently stunning nightclub performances. And yet another special honoree joins these legends, the extraordinarily inventive and original comic folksinger/composer CHRISTINE LAVIN who will. like everyone else on the bill, perform!

As announced earlier, the gifted LUCIE ARNAZ and Tony Award winner BILL IRWIN will both co-host and perform.

More stars may be announced shortly as we get closer and closer to January 30th...

TICKET PRICES: Orchestra & Loge: $75, Front Balcony: $50, Rear Balcony: $25
TICKETS CAN BE PURCHASED AT TICKETMASTER & TICKETMASTER.COM: Event URL: http://www.ticketmaster.com/event/03004824E3A1C49bB
or at The Town Hall Box Office from noon to 6 PM every day but Sunday (123 W. 43rd St.)

This unique Awards show that honors the best in cabaret, comedy & jazz is the only awards show in the world with NO ACCEPTANCE SPEECHES! Instead, the winners perform to show why they were chosen. As an All-Performance Awards show, The Nightlife Awards gained immediate prominence and has featured world class entertainers every single year including Alan King, Robert Klein, Elaine Stritch, Brian Stokes Mitchell, Kristin Chenowith, Donny Murphy, Raul Esparza, Keely Smith, Earth Kitt, Paula West, Bill Charlap, Dee Dee Bridgewater, Lea DeLaria, Demetri Martin, Mark Murphy, Betty Buckley, Karen Akers, Bruce Vilanch, Andrea Marcovicci, Stephen Schwartz, Patti LuPone, Liza Minnelli, etc.

In honor of the 10th Anniversary of the Nightlife Awards, the show's creator/producer, Scott Siegel has announced that this year's show on January 30th will be a special edition of the event. It will still be All-Performance, but this year, in addition to giving special awards to a select number of major, important nightlife entertainers, the show will also bring back some of the last decade's most memorable performers in an all-star tribute to New York Nightlife. The line-up of extraordinary stars will be rolled out in a series of press releases between now and the night of the event.

The Nightlife Awards is sponsored, in part, by ASCAP, The Edythe Kenner Foundation, Jill & Irwin Cohen, TheaterMania.com, Eda & Stephen Sorokoff, Max Weintraub, Thoroughbred Records, The Berkshire Theatre Group, Feinstein's at Loew's Regency, Sylvia Atkins, Steven Ernst, and Stuart E. Bloom & Robert L. Aaron: Lightstyles, LLC.

Photo Credit: Monica Simoes

Related Articles

From This Author BWW News Desk

Before you go...