Skip to main content Skip to footer site map

BWW TV Special Feature: The History Boys Movie

On June 11, 2006, The History Boys won six Tony Awards including Best Play--equaling the record set by Arthur Miller's seminal Death of a Salesman.  It also took home Tonys for Best Actor, Richard Griffiths; Best Director, Nicholas Hytner; Best Featured Actress, Frances de la Tour; and two Best Design Prizes, Sets and Lighting.  The History Boys also won Best Play at the New York Drama Critics' Circle, Drama Desk, Outer Critic Circle,  Drama League, Olivier, Evening Standard and London Critics' Circle Awards.

The History Boys pairs up acclaimed Director Nicholas Hytner and Oscar nominated, master story-teller Alan Bennett for a second time after their Award winning The Madness of King George.  The film is produced by Kevin Loader, Nicholas Hytner and Damian Jones, financed by DNA Films and BBC Films.

Join Michael Dale as he sits down with some of the stars of The History Boys film to talk about taking the stage production and making it work for the big screen in this special feature!

Click Above to Launch Video Player

Related Articles

From This Author Craig Brockman

Craig Brockman and independent video editor and producer in the entertainment industry and has served as both Senior Editor and Multimedia Director for BroadwayWorldand. He (read more...)