Amy Herzog Wins The New York Times Outstanding Playwright Award for AFTER THE REVOLUTION

Amy Herzog Wins The New York Times Outstanding Playwright Award for AFTER THE REVOLUTION

The New York Times announces Amy Herzog as the winner of its annual Outstanding Playwright Award for her play, "After the Revolution."

"We were struck by Amy Herzog's mastery of every element of good drama," said Sylviane Gold, selection committee chair. "'After the Revolution' has vivid dialogue, nuanced characters and an engrossing plot."

In addition to Ms. Gold, the members of this year's selection committee were Pulitzer Prize-winning playwrights Edward Albee, James Lapine and Lynn Nottage, Pulitzer finalist Richard Greenberg, New York Times theater and books editor Scott Heller and former New York Times Arts editor Andrea Stevens.

Since penning "After the Revolution," Ms. Herzog has enjoyed more critical acclaim with her play "4000 Miles," produced by Lincoln Center Theater. Her latest work, "The Great God Pan," is now in previews and will open Dec. 18 in New York at Playwrights Horizons, where "After the Revolution" had its Off-Broadway premiere.

The New York Times Outstanding Playwright Award was created in 2009 to encourage and support an American playwright whose work recently received its professional debut in New York. The past winners are Tarell Alvin McCraney for "The Brothers Size," Dan LeFranc for "Sixty Miles to Silver Lake" and Kristoffer Diaz for "The Elaborate Entrance of Chad Deity."

"For this award, I am indebted to my extended family, on which 'After the Revolution' is based. I'm still amazed at my relatives' support, and maybe more importantly, their sense of humor," said Ms. Herzog. "I am deeply grateful to The New York Times for the recognition and encouragement."

The award will be presented on April 29 at a ceremony held at TheTimesCenter in Manhattan.

Related Articles

From This Author BWW News Desk

Before you go...