'05 Henry Hewes Design Awards Nominations Announced

Scenic designers John Lee Beatty and Santo Loquasto, costumes designers Willa Kim and William Ivey Long and lighting designer Brian MacDevitt are just a few of the 69 theatrical designers to garner nominations for the American Theatre Wing's 2005 Henry Hewes Design Awards.

The awards, which encompass 51 productions presented during the 2004–2005 New York theater season (out of more than 200 eligible shows), will be presented at a luncheon to be held in the fall.  The annual awards honor designers for work in venues on Broadway (36 shows this season), Off-Broadway (12 shows) and Off-Off-Broadway (20 shows), recognizing not only the traditional design categories of sets, costumes and lighting, but also "Notable Effects," which encompasses sound, music, video, puppets and other creative elements. All nominated designs must have originated in United States productions.

The top nominated productions were The Light in the Piazza and Woman Before a Glass with four each; Belle Epoque and Spatter Pattern each received three nominations. 11 productions received two nominations.  MacDevitt and Donald Holder each received three nominations for their 2004–2005 lighting designs, and a total of 11 artists received more than one nomination.

Originally known as the Maharam Awards at their inception in 1965, the Hewes Awards were later known as the American Theatre Wing Design Awards.  They were renamed in 1999 for noted critic Henry Hewes, the American Theatre Wing board member who created the awards in the mid-60s.  The Henry Hewes Design Awards Committee includes theater critics Jeffrey Eric Jenkins, chair, Tish Dace, Michael Feingold, Glenda Frank, Mario Fratti, Randy Gener, Hewes, and Joan Ungaro.

The nominations for the '04-'05 Henry Hewes Awards are as follows:

Scenic Design
John Lee Beatty: Doubt (Manhattan Theatre Club/Walter Kerr Theatre)
Beowulf Boritt: The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee (Second
Stage/Circle in the Square)
Ralph Funicello: Brooklyn Boy (Manhattan Theatre Club/Biltmore)
David Gallo: Gem of the Ocean (Walter Kerr Theatre)
Tim Hatley: Spamalot (Shubert Theatre)
Richard Hoover: After the Fall (Roundabout Theatre Company/American Airlines
Robert Israel: Belle Epoque (Lincoln Center Theater/Mitzi Newhouse)
David Korins: Orange Flower Water (Edge Theatre Company/Theater for a New
David Korins: Terrorism (Harold Clurman Theatre/New Group and Play Company)
Santo Loquasto: Glengarry Glen Ross (Royale/Jacobs Theatre)
Thomas Lynch: Woman Before a Glass (Promenade Theatre)
G.W. Mercier: People Are Wrong! (Vineyard Theatre and Target Margin Theatre)
David Rockwell: All Shook Up (Palace Theatre)
David Rockwell: Dirty Rotten Scoundrels (Imperial Theatre)
Van Santvoord: Finer Noble Gases (Rattlestick Playwrights Theatre)
Jan Versweyveld: Hedda Gabler (New York Theatre Workshop)
Brian Webb: The Immigrant (Dodger Stages)
David F. Weiner: Billy Crystal 700 Sundays (Broadhurst Theatre)
Mark Wendland: Spatter Pattern (Playwrights Horizons)
Michael Yeargan: The Light in the Piazza (Lincoln Center Theater/Vivian

Costume Design
Gregg Barnes: Dirty Rotten Scoundrels (Imperial Theatre)
Gail Brassard: Altar Boyz (Dodger Stages)
Elizabeth Hope Clancy: The Antigone Project (Women's Project/Julia Miles
Elizabeth Hope Clancy: The Oldest Profession (Signature Theatre Company)
Jess Goldstein: Brooklyn Boy (MTC/Biltmore)
Jess Goldstein: The Rivals (Lincoln Center Theater/Vivian Beaumont Theater)
Jane Greenwood: Belle Epoque (Lincoln Center Theater/Mitzi Newhouse Theater)
Jane Greenwood: Lone Star Love (Amas Musical Theatre/John Houseman Theater
Tim Hatley: Monty Python's Spamalot (Shubert Theatre)
Willa Kim: Woman Before a Glass (Promenade Theatre)
Michael Krass: Twelve Angry Men (Roundabout Theatre Company/American Airlines
William Ivey Long: La Cage aux Folles (Marquis Theatre)
Jeff Mahshie: Hurlyburly (New Group/Acorn Theatre/37 Arts)
Tobin Ost: Brooklyn (Plymouth/Schoenfeld Theatre)
Mark Wendland: The False Servant (Classic Stage Company)
David C. Woolard: All Shook Up (Palace Theater)
Catherine Zuber: The Light in the Piazza (Lincoln Center Theater/Vivian
Beaumont Theater)

Lighting Design
Kevin Adams: Spatter Pattern (Playwrights Horizons)
Christopher Akerlind Belle Epoque (Lincoln Center Theater/Mitzi Newhouse)
Christopher Akerlind: The Light in the Piazza (Lincoln Center Theater/Vivian
Pat Collins: Doubt (Manhattan Theatre Club/Biltmore)
Donald Holder: A Streetcar Named Desire (Roundabout Theatre Company/Studio 54)
Donald Holder: Gem of the Ocean (Walter Kerr Theatre)
Donald Holder: La Cage aux Folles (Marquis Theatre)
Peter Kaczorowski: Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf? (Longacre Theatre)
Natasha Katz: The Glass Menagerie (Barrymore Theatre)
Brian MacDevitt and Jason Lyons: Good Vibrations (Eugene O'Neill Theatre)
Brian MacDevitt: Pacific Overtures (Roundabout Theatre Company/Studio 54)
Brian MacDevitt: The Pillowman (Booth Theatre)
Phil Monat: Woman Before a Glass (Promenade Theatre)
Paul Palazzo: Twelve Angry Men (Roundabout Theatre Company/American Airlines)
Kenneth Posner: Glengarry Glen Ross (Jacobs Theatre)
Mimi Jordan Sherin: Julius Caesar (Belasco Theatre)

Notable Effects
Acme Sound Partners (sound): The Light in the Piazza (Lincoln Center Theater/Vivian Beaumont)
Michael Deegan & Sarah Conley (multimedia): Flight (Melting Pot Theatre Company/Lucille Lortel Theatre)
Design team: Elizabeth Swados, director; Sue Rees, scenery, puppets and video design; Melissa Schlactmeyer, costumes;Garin Marschall, lighting - Jabu (The Flea Theater)
Design team: Hanne Tierney, puppetry;   Trevor Brown, lighting; Phil Soltanoff, sound; Jane Wang,   music; Shawn Lane, puppetry - Man, the Flower of All Flesh (Theater Without Actors/Five Myles Gallery)
Jill B.C. DuBoff (sound) & Michael Friedman (music): Spatter Pattern (Playwrights Horizons)
Richard Foreman (production design):  The Gods Are Pounding My Head (Ontological-Hysteric Theater)
James Godwin and Tim Lagasse (puppets): Uncle Jimmy's Dirty Basement (Performance Space 122)
John Gromada (sound design):  A Streetcar Named Desire (Roundabout Theatre Company/Studio 54)
Allen Moyer (snowflake show curtain): Reckless (Manhattan Theatre Club/Biltmore)
Fabian Obispo (sound & music): Someone Who'll Watch Over Me (Sounding Theatre Company/Abingdon Theatre Stage II)
Fabian Obispo (sound and music): Last Easter (MCC/Lucille Lortel Theatre)
Roman Paska (puppets): Souls of Naples (Theatre for a New Audience/Duke onm 42nd Street)
Jake Pinholster (video): Boozy: The Life, Death, and Subsequent Vilification of Le Corbusier and, More Importantly, Robert Moses (Les Freres Corbusier/45 Bleecker)
Dan Moses Schreier (sound design): Pacific Overtures (Roundabout Theatre Company/Studio 54)
Theodora Skipitares (production design): Iphigenia (La MaMa E.T.C./Annex)
Basil Twist (production design): Dogugaeshi (Japan Society)
Basil Twist (production design): Symphonie Fantastique (Dodger Stages)
David Van Tieghem (sound): Woman Before a Glass (Promenade Theatre)
Darron L. West (sound): Hot 'n' Throbbing (Signature Theatre Company)

For more information, visit www.americantheatrewing.org.

Related Articles

More Hot Stories For You

Before you go...

Like Us On Facebook
Follow Us On Twitter
Follow Us On Instagram