Photo Coverage: 'Yellow Face' Opening Night

By: Dec. 12, 2007
Get Show Info Info
Get Access To Every Broadway Story

Unlock access to every one of the hundreds of articles published daily on BroadwayWorld by logging in with one click.

Existing user? Just click login.

The Public Theater officially opened the world premiere of David Henry Hwang's new play Yellow Face, directed by Leigh Silverman on Monday, December 10 at 7 PM, to run through Sunday, December 23.

"In Yellow Face, Playwright David Henry Hwang puts himself center stage with alter-ego DHH, telling his side of the explosive controversy stirred up when he led the protest against the hiring of Jonathan Pryce in the original Broadway production of Miss Saigon. Truth and fiction are hard to separate as Hwang gives us a funny and moving backstage look at his search to confront the roles that race and ethnicity play in America," state press notes.

The cast of Yellow Face features Noah Bean, Francis Jue, Julienne Hanzelka Kim, Kathryn Layng, Hoon Lee, Lucas Caleb Rooney, and Anthony Torn.  Yellow Face will feature sets by David Korins; costumes by Myung Hee Cho; lights by Donald Holder; and original composition and sound design by Darron West.

David Henry Hwang (Playwright) was awarded the 1988 Tony, Drama Desk, Outer Critics, and John Gassner Awards for his Broadway debut, M. Butterfly, which was also a finalist for the Pulitzer Prize.  For his play Golden Child, he received a 1998 Tony nomination and a 1997 OBIE Award.  His new book for Rodgers & Hammerstein's Flower Drum Song earned him his third Tony nomination in 2003.  He was the book writer of Disney's Tarzan, with score by Phil Collins, and also co-authored the book for Elton John and Tim Rice's Aida, which ran almost five years on Broadway and won four 2000 Tony Awards.

The performance schedule is Tuesdays at 7 PM; Wednesdays thru Fridays at 8 PM; Saturdays at 2 PM and 8 PM; and Sundays at 3 PM and 7 PM.  There are no performances on Thursday, November 22 or Tuesday, December 11 and added Monday performances on November 19 and December 10 at 7 PM.

The Public Theater is located at 425 Lafayette Street.  Tickets are $50 with student tickets available in advance, at the box office only, for $25 (1 per ID).  There are a limited number of Rush Tickets sold an hour before curtain at every performance available to the general public (Two per person, $20 each, cash only).

To purchase tickets, please call (212) 967-7555 or visit  For general information, please call (212) 539-8500.

Photos by Carlos Gustavo Monroy

Gael Papp

Lucas Caleb Rooney and Anthony Torn

Gael Papp and Mara Manus

Jonathan Groff

Irina Pantaeva

Noah Bean

Noah Bean and Julienne Hanzelka Kim

Noah Bean, Julienne Hanzelka Kim and Hoon Lee

Leigh Silverman

Francis Jue and Leigh Silverman

Lucas Caleb Rooney

Oskar Eustis

Oskar Eustis and David Henry Hwang (Playwright)

Kathryn A. Layng and David Henry Hwang

Mara Manus and David Henry Hwang

Lucas Caleb Rooney and Anthony Torn

Irina Pantaeva

Jonathan Groff and Brian Charles Johnson