Skip to main content Skip to footer site map

NYTW Will Present 17 BORDER CROSSINGS This Spring

NYTW Will Present 17 BORDER CROSSINGS This Spring

New York Theatre Workshop (NYTW) will present 17 Border Crossings, created and performed by NYTW Usual Suspect Thaddeus Phillips (A Billion Nights on Earth), and directed by Tatiana Mallarino (Red Eye to Havre de Grace). This will be Thaddeus Phillips's third collaboration with NYTW, following ¡El Conquistador! in 2006 and Red Eye to Havre de Grace in 2014.

17 Border Crossings will begin previews on April 11, 2019, and open April 15 at New York Theatre Workshop (79 E. 4th Street New York, NY 10003), for a limited run through May 12, 2019. NYTW's previously announced production of Sanctuary City by Pulitzer Prize winner Martyna Majok will be postponed until the 2019/20 season due to creative team scheduling conflicts.

With his signature blend of childlike curiosity, adult skepticism, and theatrical imagination, raconteur and NYTW Usual Suspect Thaddeus Phillips (Red Eye to Havre de Grace) returns to the Workshop. 17 Border Crossings begins with a man at a desk on an empty stage and ends up everywhere but, taking audiences on a trip around the world via Phillips's effortlessly fluent storytelling. A chair, table, and bar of lights become the imagined settings for invasive body searches at Charles de Gaulle, ayahuasca experiments in the Amazon, KFC-smuggling in Palestine, and run-ins with Ace of Base on Croatian ferries in this engrossing look at the imaginary lines that divide up the world and the very real barriers they create.

The performance schedule for 17 Border Crossings is as follows: Tuesday-Thursday at 7pm, Friday at 8pm, Saturday at 2pm & 8pm, Sunday at 2pm and 7pm. There will be no performance on Tuesday, April 16 and no 7pm performance on Sunday, May 12.

The next production in NYTW's 2018/19 season is Hurricane Diane, by Pulitzer Prize finalist Madeleine George (The (curious case of the) Watson Intelligence). Directed by Tony Award nominee, two-time Obie Award winner and NYTW Usual Suspect Leigh Silverman (Violet), Hurricane Diane will begin previews on Tuesday, February 6, 2019, with an opening night set for Sunday, February 24, for a limited run through Sunday, March 10, 2019. The cast for Hurricane Diane will include Mia Barron (The Wolves), Michelle Beck (A Raisin in the Sun), Becca Blackwell (They, Themself and Schmerm), Danielle Skraastad (All My Sons), and Kate Wetherhead (The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee). Hurricane Diane is the first co-production of a two-play collaboration with WP Theater. The second production will be announced at a later date.

New York Theatre Workshop, now in its fourth decade of incubating important new works of theatre, continues to honor its mission to explore perspectives on our collective history and respond to the events and institutions that shape all our lives. Each season, from its home in New York's East Village, NYTW presents five new productions, over 80 readings and numerous workshop productions for over 45,000 audience members. NYTW supports artists in all stages of their careers by maintaining a series of workshop programs, including work-in-progress readings, summer residencies and artist fellowships. Since its founding, NYTW has produced over 150 new, fully staged works, including Jonathan Larson's Rent; Tony Kushner's Slavs! and Homebody/Kabul; Doug Wright's Quills; Claudia Shear's Blown Sideways Through Life and Dirty Blonde; Paul Rudnick's The Most Fabulous Story Ever Told and Valhalla; Martha Clarke's Vienna: Lusthaus; Will Power's The Seven and Fetch Clay, Make Man; Caryl Churchill's Mad Forest, Far Away, A Number and Love and Information; Jessica Blank and Erik Jensen's Aftermath; Rick Elice's Peter and the Starcatcher; Glen Hansard, Markéta Irglová and Enda Walsh's Once; David Bowie and Enda Walsh's Lazarus; Dael Orlandersmith's The Gimmick and Forever; Anaïs Mitchell's Hadestown; and eight acclaimed productions directed by Ivo van Hove. NYTW's productions have received a Pulitzer Prize, seventeen Tony Awards and assorted Obie, Drama Desk and Lucille Lortel Awards.

More Hot Stories For You