Skip to main content Skip to footer site map

Ed Sylvanus Iskandar and More Set for DAVENPORT 10 MINUTE PLAY CONTEST's Industry Panel

Broadway and Off-Broadway producer Ken Davenport (Macbeth, Kinky Boots, Godspell, Altar Boyz, The Awesome 80's Prom) will present The Davenport Ten Minute Play Contest which will feature ten 10 minute plays or musicals on June 20th at 7pm at the Davenport Studios. The contest winner and recipient of a $500 grand prize will be decided by an industry panel of judges that will include Ken Davenport, two-time Drama Desk nominated director Ed Sylvanus Iskandar, Broadway producer Jhett Tolentino, and Spring Awakening actress Remy Zaken.

Due to high demand, the May 12th submission deadline has been extended to May 17th, with finalists announced on May 24th. Plays or musicals must be approximately 10 minutes in length and have not had a professional showcase in New York City. Finalists will receive a cash prize of $50 with the winner to receive $500. Full Contest entry guidelines and info on how to submit your play can be found here

Last year's finalists were selected out of hundreds of submissions and the winner was determined at the presentation on June 28th 2012 by audience vote and a panel that included Ken Davenport, NYMF Executive Director Isaac Robert Hurwitz, musical theatre writer Joe Iconis, and writer/performer Sarah Saltzberg. The winner of the $500 prize went to Justin Anthony Long and Garrit Guadan for their hilarious Girl Scout inspired musical Cookie Soiree.

The Davenport Ten Minute Play Contest will take place on June 20th at the Davenport Studios (250 West 49th Street, Suite 304, NYC) at 7:00pm. Tickets will be available in advance and at the door.

Featured at the Theatre Shop

T-Shirts, Mugs, Phone Cases & More
Branded Broadway Merch
Related Articles View More Off-Broadway Stories

Industry Classifieds

More Hot Stories For You